National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2014: York and Its Surrounds

This April is a great time to be heading for York. The major attractions are all open, with luck the weather will continue to be ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Ingham Swan, Ingham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Samantha on 12th September, 2011

Add your review
We found the Swan by off-chance, after driving around for 2 hours trying to find a b&b. The staff were really helpful, the room was beautiful, very comfy bed, lovely hot, powerful shower. We ate in the restaurant, and had the set meal, which was delicious. The whole experience was excellent, and a wonderful way to end our long week-end break in Norfolk. I would thoroughly recommend both the b&b and the restaurant, although I would say I probably would not take my young children there, as does not really cater for young children.

Date visited: 15.8.11

Review by R Symonds on 22nd August, 2011

Add your review
Having visited the restaurant a couple of times previously, we were extremely disappointed third time round. The staff were very young and inexperienced, the prices had rocketed and the menu was not as varied. The attention to detail had gone and I'm sure repeat business will be lost as a result. We were so disappointed we contacted the owner a few days later who was extremely arrogant and put us off even more. Good bye 'Ingham Swan', hello 'Lessingham Star'!

Date visited: 20.8.11

Review by Glenn on 9th May, 2011

Add your review
This was the second visit this year. Mothering Sunday for a party of four FANTASTIC! and Last weekend a party of nine DOUBLE FANTASTIC!! On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. Pre lunch drinks served to perfection. Orders taken in a timely fashion and we were requested to the table in a friendly, efficient and professional manner. The premises were spotlessly clean. The food once again was faultless as agreed by the whole party. A BIG WELL DONE to the Staff and proprietors. It was sad to read the review from the "Local" we only live 15 minutes away and recall what the pub used to be like. Yes we prefer it. The prices tend to reflect the standard of the food and service. Same again please bigger glasses!

Date visited: 7 may 2011

Review by Maggie Shepherd on 19th October, 2010

Add your review
Stayed on a B&B basis only. A charming Country Inn in a lovely village. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was really well presented and cooked to perfection. My only complaint was that the room (Room 5) was very very cold. Radiators were barely warm or not on at all and I couldn't maintain hot water flow in the shower. Carpet was also a bit dirty. Hasn't put me off visiting again though. Don't forget to visit the church next door.

Date visited: 16/10/10

Review by Graham-Paul on 23rd September, 2010

Add your review
Having heard of good things about the Ingham Swan through regular restaurant-goers and through all positive reviews, my partner and I with our small child had to give it a go! we where not disapointed, the decor is a wonderful mix of contempary colours that matched the oldie-worldie enviroment. We where greeted immediately with a warm welcome and smile, where we were lead to our table as we booked inadvance,( A good job too as it was full at lunch!) Bread and olives came to us as soon as we sat down. We ordered from the extremely thought-out menu,I was told that all ingredients is sourced as local as can be, which we thought was impressive. We ordered soon after, and we plummed to share a starter, which was Chicken liver Parfait, with sweet pickle. The parfait has good intensity of flavours with a lovely creamy smooth texture. Then around 10-15 minutes later our mains arived (which was perfect with out feeling rushed) My partner had Seabass,which was cooked perfectly and I had local Pork Fillet,presentation on both dishes was astounding. The Pork was also cooked to perfection;just a faint colour of pink in the middle, just as Pork fillet should be cooked. Both meals where in proportion and delicious, our child had food from both our plates which was lapped up. The waiter recomended a wine to go with both dishes and was 'spot on'. (The wine list was balanced and had wines which were original and thought out). By this time our child was feeling agitated so we asked to have our desserts outside, which the waiter obliged with no fuss. We both had dessert, my partner beining a chocaholic plummed for the Fondant, myself something traditional a bakewell tart, both home made and delicious. When we asked for the bill-I was shocked to find how reasonable this was. This place is going places and is already in the Michelen book!With it been only opened 5 months ago. I would certainly recommend this to all. Having spent most of my past years living in London-I have to say that having The Swan in Norfolk is truely special.

Date visited: Thursday 12Th Aug 2010

Review by John Scott on 3rd August, 2010

Add your review
Having lived near to this pub for over 30 years we have seen many changes, the latest of which we checked out this week. It was somewhat disappointing as the recent refurbishment has taken away much of its character and what was an interesting hostelry is now bland and much like any other brewery owned pub. The old deal tables and menu blackboard have gone, as have the interesting pictures of the pub in yesteryear, to be replaced with corporate stlye impressionism. We had lunch there, and how prices has risen! The food was quite nice but overpriced and be prepared for a long wait between courses. Sadly we shall not be returning but there are nicer alternatives nearby - such as the Lessingham Star which is outstanding value.

Date visited: 1/08/2010

Review by ian hyder on 27th October, 2009

Add your review
Over the years this pub? has changed in many ways, once a place where you could relax and have a few beers while playing pool and darts, chatting to the locals and beating them at pool for a pint. It had a reception area for the quests to register to make them feel like being in a proper hotel. NOW...no traditional games, no reception just food tables where once you could relax after a hard day fishing. You have to book in over the bar to over encouraged bar staff who try to sell you all the latest promotions and fads when all you want is your chosen pint. Food....don't sit near the kitchen door it squeaks loudly and bangs, the kitchen staff are young noisey, shouting etc, with no thought of the customers. The quality of the food is poor, unless you like chips (lots of chips) I think they think you won't notice how small the portions are if they fill your plate with chips. Value for money is not high on the list. Don't go here, the New Inn is a better option and the staff are genuine and accommodating.

Date visited: 10/10/2009

Review by Mr Stevens on 28th August, 2009

Add your review
The pub itself is a charming thatched building and nicely decorated but the B & B accommodation in the barn was pricey, £85 for a double room which although clean was very small and dark. The bathroom fan was very noisy and we also could hear every single spoken word and snore, etc. uttered by the guests in the accommodation above our room and I am sure they could hear us too. The car park is adjacent to the accommodation so don't expect an early night.

Date visited: August 2009

Review by Martin Pilkington on 27th August, 2009

Add your review
We passed this pub on the way to Walcott via Stalham, and it looked so pleasant we decided to follow the same route back and stop for a quick half. It didn’t disappoint. The ancient building is archetypal English country pub: thatched roof; beams low enough to crack the skull of unwary drinkers; a deliciously dark and cool interior on one of the few sweltering days of the summer; and plenty of tables outside. With the pub car park between it and the church next door (the pub building it seems used to be part of the Priory at Ingham) it was convenient too. The pub serves Woodfordes ales, well kept, cellar cool and beautifully fresh on our visit at least, and it has accommodation that we’ll bear in mind for a future trip; and had we not already eaten the menu looked worth a punt with some local seafood featured.

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We pay when old for the excesses of youth. - J B Priestley
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry VII. Accession of Henry VIII - 1509, Sinn Fein Formed - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages