It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2018: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lazybones Car Boot, Rettendon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Robert moss on 16th September, 2018

Add your review
1st time Iíve ever been to this Bootsale and I loved it . I was selling this time and was impressed how well run it was , the pitches are a great size and just the right distance away from the ones opposite . I had a really good day money wise and the customers are really nice . 10 out of 10 👍👍

Date visited: 16.09.18

Review by Michelle on 7th August, 2017

Add your review
The Rettendon bootsale has changed a lot since I last did one a year ago. The pitch fee is not worth it anymore as its no where near as good as it used to be. The people visiting have changed a lot - used to find everyone here was friendly, had a laugh and you could get a reasonable price for the bits you were selling but not anymore. The old school bootfare goers now only account for about half the visitors. The rest want items so cheap you'd be better off giving the whole lot to a charity shop and not bothering with a bootsale at all. What has really angered me is that I had a designer dress stolen yesterday by some low life piece of scum. All unsold items are going to Marie Curie so its a cancer charity they've deprived of the opportunity to make some money by their theft. In 10 years+ of doing bootsales I've never had anything stolen until yesterday. Won't be having a pitch here again.

Date visited: 6th August 2017

Review by Oschman on 3rd July, 2016

Add your review
I was the worst day ever, we wanted to park in the It open space at the top of the car boot sale, but when we stop we were screamed at and because we were parking in the disabled parking places no markings. Then we move over to the upper parking they shouted at us in front of our children. We can not do what we want we must do as they say. Then started the races remarks even though we from the uk. They took our money and we just left. So to all stay away from this boot sale

Date visited: 03/07/2016

Review by Deborah wright on 5th May, 2013

Add your review
Today I went to this bootsale and although their website states sellers from 9-10, when we got there at 9 we were told they were full. They clearly did not wait until 9 to allow sellers on, we were told no spaces at all but when I went around the site I found at least six more spaces that a blind person could have spotted. I complained to the male owner of the site who clearly could not of cared less in fact he told me that the the bootsale was run for his benefit and not for the likes of people like me. He did not care that diesel had been wasted making the trip to him but then why should he after all he had made an absolute mint from the pitch fees from people like me(sellers) already. A definite case of another greedy land owner I feel. He also had other land available that was being used for car parking that he told me could not be used for sellers as it was illegal??? He welcomed my complaint on the Internet and stated that he hoped more people would do the same so that less people visited his bootsale . Seems to me these people have more respect for dead people than living ones as their latest project for a living memorial would suggest or was this just glory hunting. During my walk around i then saw a younger man assult and older man and yet the people in charge then tried to play the situation down so it would go away, maybe these sort of people are who they run thier bootsale for! I would strongly advise that any seller going to this bootsale is aware of the type of contempt you will be shown from these people should a problem or situation arise whilst there.

Date visited: 05/05/13

Review by Mike Inwood on 19th September, 2010

Add your review
We have been to the boot sale again today why are CBC doing this. Over time you have transformed this boot sale site to the best i have seen in Essex. To dedicate to those who fight to keep us Free and some plonker in planing to take this away from us my opinion they should be shot or sent out to fight. I am Disabled and those who run will help you always get a parking space. I over heard a conversation today with the lovely lady owner she stated that she will lay down in front of them to stop them taking from us what is a days lesure to enjoy the boot sale and see those names that have laid down their lives for us. What ever they try i will lay down my life in front of the Enforcement as many have done for me in two wars and they do so today. You can trust i mean what i say tell the Council leave the Memorial site alone it is them that keep us free. Mike

Date visited: Every Sunday

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to move. - Robert Louis Stevenson
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Ashingdon - 1016, Chewing Gum first goes on sale - 1911, BBC Formed - 1922
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages