National Trust
Timbers

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Timbers Hotel,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr & Mrs Kent on 28th January, 2012

Add your review
Fantastic food!! Wonderful flavours, presentation excellant, service 1st class. Thoroughly recommended!!!

Date visited: 28 January 2012

Review by mark on 2nd August, 2010

Add your review
Excellent value for money, We stayed in Timbers, for 4 days. The staff wer'e very pleasant & helpfull. Hotel very clean & tidy both inside & outside. Food was very very good, a good choice, served hot & plentifull.

Date visited: 27 july 2010

Review by Miranda Belcher on 18th July, 2010

Add your review
We stayed there also as part of a large wedding party,the ceremony being held there.It did not get off to an auspicious start as we were told our rooms would be ready at 12'o'clock yet when we arrived none of the rooms were ready apart from the daisy suite.The wedding was due to start at 2'o'clock and we only got into our room at 1.15 which left little time to get ready.I cannot fault the politeness of the staff but it was apparent that the hotel is badly understaffed when it comes to a function of this size.The food was good until it came to breakfast the next morning.We had all been told it would be ready at 9am and my husband and i duly went over at 9.15 to find that they were already running out of various items.The mother of the bride had to keep going out to the kitchen to ask them to prepare more.What i had of the cooked breakfast was mediocre at best, to be honest, and i was less than impressed at a trail of ants scurrying up and down the door pillar! It is a very picturesque venue and i think that if you were not staying as part of a large party it would be a very nice place to spend a weekend.The rooms are small but adequate,the only downside being that they were very hot so windows needed to be left open.

Date visited: 17-18 July 2010

Review by brian carter on 21st March, 2010

Add your review
We stayed at Timbers as a large group booking to attend a wedding, upto 10 rooms including the Daisy suite for the bride and groom, some rooms booked for 5 nights and we generally enjoyed the experience until the last morning when the bride and groom, on their first morning as newly weds arrived for breakfast 15 minutes late (9:45 on a sunday !) to be told they couldn't have anything. There wasn't even any coffee left for them - apparently the chef had left (he was outside having a smoke) the staff didn't even offer to make them some toast. When I mentioned it I was told by the member of staff he told me there was nothing he could do he was "only" the bar manager. This was not great way to start their married life !!!

Date visited: 20/3/2010

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I used to desire many, many things, but now I have just one desire, and that's to get rid of all my other desires - John Cleese
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Harlaw - 1411, Mary Queen of Scots abdicates - 1567, Gibraltar Seized - 1704, Speaking Clock Introduced - 1936
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles