Castle

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Castle & Ball Hotel, Marlborough

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 22nd December, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: overall value plus breakfast Bad Points: online booking not acknowledged by hotel booking system

Date visited: 2009-12-22

Review by Andrew on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Breakfast was excellent - best bacon I've tasted in a while! Very polite, helpful and amenable staff Car parking & internet access Central position in town centre Bad Points: Hot water ran through both taps - Room 23 - couldn't get a drink of water! No fans or air conditioning General review: Relaxed, good value for money, great service

Date visited: 2009-07-06

Review by Anonymous on 22nd February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Decaffeinated coffee in room - excellent! Very comfortable bed, clean and pleasant bathroom. Very good chef.Bad Points: Restaurant staffed buy daft teenagers who don't understand service and had to fetch 'someone else' to write our order down. Heavy TV fell off its stand - very dangerous. Overhot room, even hours after radiator turned off. Chugging noise all night long heard from bed area - suspect fridges in bar below: most annoying. Lots of vehicle noise from main road. Extremely creaky floor.General review: Definitely would have felt ripped off if I had paid the £70 on my original web enquiry. Shopped around and got same room for £50 but still dubious value considering issues above. The Castle and Ball, being the biggest hotel in town is trying to be grandiose but does it on the cheap by hiring child waiters and doing shabby maintenance. If you stay here, insist on a room that faces away from the street - there is a lot of noise.

Date visited: 2009-02-22

Review by Anonymous on 22nd February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Decaffeinated coffee in room - excellent! Very comfortable bed, clean and pleasant bathroom. Very good chef. Bad Points: Restaurant staffed buy daft teenagers who don't understand service and had to fetch 'someone else' to write our order down. Heavy TV fell off its stand - very dangerous. Overhot room, even hours after radiator turned off. Chugging noise all night long heard from bed area - suspect fridges in bar below: most annoying. Lots of vehicle noise from main road. Extremely creaky floor. General review: Definitely would have felt ripped off if I had paid the £70 on my original web enquiry. Shopped around and got same room for £50 but still dubious value considering issues above. The Castle and Ball, being the biggest hotel in town is trying to be grandiose but does it on the cheap by hiring child waiters and doing shabby maintenance. If you stay here, insist on a room that faces away from the street - there is a lot of noise.

Date visited: 2009-02-22

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A sure cure for seasickness is to sit under a tree. - Spike Milligan
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Ashingdon - 1016, Chewing Gum first goes on sale - 1911, BBC Formed - 1922, First Brit Awards - 1977
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages