Top Picks:

Hotel The Mount The Mount
B and B G & G B & B G & G B & B
Self-Catering Albrighton Apartments Albrighton Apartments
Inn ABC Beechwood Hotel ABC Beechwood Hotel

Midlands
Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Lea

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lea Manor Hotel,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr M Sherbourne on 26th April, 2011

Add your review
I stayed with my Neice on the recent beautiful Easter weekend. The hotel is fine and would benefit from an overhaul however we ate and they did a beautiful smokey BBQ dinner. We sat outside the patio till the early hours with the wood burning and retired to our lovely room. We had no problem and although it does need modernising I would recommend it. It's also very quiet - great if you don't like stying with other people. Thankyou Lea Manor. Kind Regards Mr Sherbourne, Lincs.

Date visited: 23 Apr 2011

Review by The Hooper Family on 4th January, 2011

Add your review
Dear dear dear me. What did I do?. The old addage read the reviews really are so right!. I could go on and on and on. But to summise briefly. We booked in for a one night stay just after Christmas whilst visiting an elderly relative. We got to the hotel and it was locked!. We rang again, no answer and started leaving when a car pulled up. The manager. Apologies done we went to the room and it was awful. Cold, damp, not cleaned for ages and eerie. Don't know why, just - felt odd there. We went to complain but again the manager had gone out and spoke to a young girl cleaning and was told no other rooms were available - although as far as I was aware no one else was stopping there. Due to the bad snowy weather we stayed and all night the manager was banging and shifting stuff around in the bar (With one of his collegues). No breakfast was ready when we got up the next morning but was told we could have some cereal. (No thanks!). We paid half of what was asked and left. We won't be visiting again and think the place should be opened as a theme park attraction and not somewhere for paying guests. With the weather - Jack Nicholson and 'The Shining' was never far out of our minds.

Date visited: 28.12.2010

Review by dave on 29th November, 2010

Add your review
the lea manor is a beutiful buidling located on the a454 running through the wonderful county of shropshire. its views of the country side are amazing. but to the hotel..... We (my wife and myself) booked for a night as we were passing through from cumbria to Sussex and fancied taking in shropshire. The hotel is pretty but far too quiet. 1 staff member who is concierge/waiter/cook/barman/secretary is not enough - but as he said business is slow. The outside is messy - i agree with others borderline of derelict but inside - although musty smelling is nice. Now the bad part. I'm not a 'believer', but the place is either a theme park or it is haunted. my wife and i both witnessed something walk though a wall and one minute there was a man (who looked rather like the manager) the next he was gone. The next morinng (after now a dodgy nights sleep) we explained to the manager and apparently we are not the first!. The manager is nice, but the place if I had to point it would get only 6 out of 10. too much work for one person to manage.

Date visited: 27 november 2010

Review by J Harriot on 4th August, 2010

Add your review
I write this as i sit in my room watching the rain lash against the window at the Lea Manor Hotel. I agree with the last reviewer, yes it is quiet and grotty. The place is needing a massive clean and decoration urgently and as i've booked a 3 day stay i'm still waiting for the manager to visit me as staff are completly non existant (As is he and the food). The (broken) rear door access is terribly poor and i cut myself entering due to lights not being on. I would avoid the place in it's current format. Yes its in a easily located idillic location but from the outside it looks like its just been abandoned.

Date visited: 4th August 2010

Review by Steve Marshall on 21st July, 2010

Add your review
Having read the reviews, I was somewhat appprehensive of what I would discover. Due to a course at nearby Cosford and limited availability of other places to stay I booked into the Lea Manor for 4 days. The hotel did need a good clean and looks like, in places, hadn't been cleaned for years. The room had a damp, musty smell and first thing I did was to open the windows. The car park was huge (and empty) and very dirty and overgrown. The hotel was extremly quiet (I was the only guest), as was the bar. I found this nice, but it is nicer to be able to speak to people. I didn't bother eating as I was eating out with work, but the food seemed to be non existant. I didn't have no issues with the staff, indeed I never saw anyone. My only major critiscm would be with the door. The front main door was boarded up and I had to use a broken rear door. Locals told me it had been like that for years. Overall a quiet, stress free stay, but definatly needs some investment.

Date visited: 17th July 2010

Review by Anon on 3rd March, 2008

Add your review
There is no way the positive comments about this dump were made by paying guests. Avoid this place. If there was a minus star rating they would have -10.

Date visited: Feb 2008

Review by rob on 7th November, 2007

Add your review
The good thing about the Lea Manor is that in the morning you can go home!

Date visited: 29-10-2007

Review by selina on 23rd May, 2007

Add your review
well the hotel was really nice, and the staff were really friendly aswell, and the food, well that was just so lovely but i didnt like the standards of the television in the hotel room. It was on a stand screwed to the wall and it was very wobbly so that wasnt really safe. but other than that everything was perfect and i enjoyed myself there it was great. i would love to go back there again.

Date visited: 22/05/07

Review by joe P on 22nd April, 2007

Add your review
just like to say thanx to Lea Manor for a fantastic night. atmosphere was awesome, good priced beer and very friendly barstaff, looking forward to the next good night!!! thanx again

Date visited: 20th april 07

Review by dave Martin on 20th February, 2007

Add your review
No way is this a three-star hotel. Bar closed at 9pm. Very cold.

Date visited: Feb 2007

Review by Anonymous on 23rd August, 2006

Add your review
Where to start?? En route to the Lea Manor we called ahead to check that the restaurant would still be open when we got there. We arrived to find that the chef had been sent home 45 minutes ahead of closing time due to lack of businss. We were given a room in the Annex of the hotel - at about 11.30 that evening I went to the main hotel (no loo roll in the bathroom) to find a full on rave taking place. Later that evening (around 3.30am) a group of teenagers - not guests at the hotel - were loitering directly outside our room because the main Annex door was not secured. We were kept awake by their talking and cars coming and going from the car park all night. The following morning we tried to access the main hotel at 8.30am for breakfast to find the entire building was locked and there was nobody to let us in. We didn't bother staying the two additional nights that we had booked. Apparently the Lea Manor used to be a fantastic hotel. It isn't any more.

Date visited: 18 August 2006

Review by sarah williams on 27th June, 2006

Add your review
What a fantastic place to stay, the people are so friendly and helpful and the food is out of this world, one of the few places left who cook a good hearty homemade meal at very reasonable prices. i stayed for 10 days and would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area. the staff looked after my every need, the drink is at a reasonable price and the rooms are very clean.

Date visited: 18 April 2006

Anonymous Review on 9th May, 2006

Add your review
A very poor excuse for a hotel. Needs a good clean. It smells ... not sure what of ! Looks great from the outside on good surroundings ... then it is all downhill. Give this a miss ... plenty of really nice hotels in the area.

Review by Mr Conrad Petreatis on 5th April, 2006

Add your review
Nestling in the sleepy Shropshire Countryside I ambled across the Lea Manor Hotel. I was in this pleasant rural area on a mission to view the Red Kite that had been reported to be in the vicinity. In need of food and refuge I walked into the hotel where I was greeted by the happy smiling face of the proprietor, Mr. Junea Arbuthnot Joseph. I was rapidly despatched to the attractive if somewhat small rooms of the Annex. I was advised by the owner, with a wry smile, that "the rooms over here are quieter and warmer due to the south facing views" this proved to be very true and I slept sound as a dormouse in its hay retreat. Upon waking I walked across for a sumptious breakfast of "Waffles Canadian" with lashings of hot, steaming, freshly ground coffee. All served up by the comely waitress, Charlotte. In all my overnight stay was pleasurable and value for money. However, be warned, If you are looking for 5 star facilities then the Lea Manor is not the place for you. If you are looking for afordable accommodation with good food and a pleasant homely atmosphere then pay a visit to Mr. Joseph's establishment and share a drink and a good story with the liveley boisterious group of regulars in the Manor Bar.

Date visited: 30/03/06

Review by Chris Rolls on 1st February, 2006

Add your review
Having had my job re-located to the Wolverhampton area I have had to find semi permanent residence at an affordable price and as such have been staying at the Lea Manor since August 2005. Having worked away from home for a considerable amount of time it was a pleasant surprise to find the Hotel owner and staff extremley accomodating. The Menu is flexible and every addtional request above and beyond the standard menu is met with the best possible endeavour by the Chef who delivers an excellent standard of food at an affordable price. There is a varied selection of wines all at reasonable prices and the Hotel Manager takes into consideration any additions that would please the residents. The rooms and facilities are spacious and kept very clean and i have never had cause to complain. To summarise i have found my current stay to date more than satisfactory and shall continue to reside at the Lea Manor until such time as my work location changes again. I would not hesistate in recomending the Lea Manor to any potential residents who just want a pleasant meal and a quiet nights sleep. Sincerely Mr C Rolls

Date visited: 1st January 2006

Review by debbie sweet on 17th December, 2005

Add your review
i am sorry to say that our evening at lea manor Hotel was very disappointing. We had booked in for our works Christmas party and had really been looking forward to the evening, however we were truly let down when even on the starters two members of our party had to send back the bread that accompanied the prawn salad, the waitresses were very helpful and returned with bread rolls as replacement, so we thought just a minor oversight no harm done.Until that is we went up for the carvery several members of our party had the beef only to find that it had an awful taste and smell, on complaining they were offered to look in the kitchen and showed packaging that was dated 29/12/05 which obviously showed that it was in date but as several other people on seperate tables had also complained this did nothing to assure us that the beef was not off as the smell and taste of it was lingering on the rest of our meal and several could not even eat the vegetables that were on the same plate. We were offered another meal but as our concerns had not been dealt with we felt that this was not an option and would rather do without .However hope prevailed and we thought that perhaps dessert would make up for the disappiontment we were feeling . So after waiting an hour following the main course,[i truly cannot say how long we waited cause i gave up looking at my watch at 10.30 ]finally the long awaited profiteroles arrived. We stared incredulous at the small plastic container similar to that you receive on aeroplanes, so much for presentation.We felt that we at least deseved a nice dessert dish.I would like to say that the entertainment helped lighten the mood but i am sorry to say that it was just has depressing as the food.Now I know you might be thinking I am just a born complainer but no actually i am the eternal optimist who sees the good in everything i am just sorry to say that the only thing good about that evening were the friends I was with Sorry Lea manor 2/10 that was just for the waitresses who at least tried .You will probably be glad to hear that we most certainly won't be back next year.

Date visited: 16/12/05

Review by Liam Mcwilliams on 10th June, 2005

Add your review
Lea manor is very nice and peaceful, the food was great and i would love to come back soon.

Date visited: 5/6/04

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
People who get through life dependent on other people's possessions are always the first to lecture you on how little possessions count. - Ben Elton
More Quotes

On this day:
Royal Society Founded - 1660, Nancy Astor becomes the first woman MP - 1919
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles