Old

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Mill Hotel, Salisbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 25th February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: The staff we encountered were lovely, although somehow our reservation wasn't seen on the hotel list, which led to some confusion.(It was spotted soon after we were allotted a different room.) The room and bathroom were very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and pleasantly kitted out. The breakfast was plentiful and good, and served in the very attractive restaurant. The location is gorgeous. Bad Points: The room was really rather small for the price. We could have had a bigger one, but we were warned it might have been noisy, being above the bar. I thought the bathroom was adequate, but less than luxurious for the price, and this was very out of season and still more than we had recently paid for a B & B of equal comfort. There was a TV which appeared to promise internet connection, but there was no indication of how this worked - better not to promise it! The TV worked fine. General review: Fine, but rather overpriced. I would stay again if I wasn't bothered about price or could get a special deal.

Date visited: 2009-02-25

Review by Paul on 29th January, 2009

Add your review
Just got back from the Old Mill. I chose this hotel after reading some reviews on this site, the majority where positive. My experience is very positive. The room was in the attic but was clean and tidy. The media in the room is bang up-to-date with lcd tv, disc player and wi-fi and the bed was comfy. Car parking was available and free. The hotel is directly on the water front with ducks and swans in great supply. The water course actually runs through the resturant through a covered culvert. Talking of resturant, we had dinner and breakfast there. I can only say that the pan roasted lamb was gorgeous complete with mustard mash and rosemary jus. For breakfast i had scambled egg and smoked salmon, a first for me but it was brilliant. The bar was lively and busy if a bit on the pricey side however overall we thoughly enjoyed our stay and woulf recommend it to anyone.

Date visited: 28 January 2009

Review by Sally on 12th February, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Hotel situation, friendliness and efficiency of staff, excellent food. General review: The situaution of the hotel could not be improved, the views across to the cathedral were stunning. Although we did not have dinner in the restaurant, the breakfast was delicious - hot, and obviously freshly cooked. The staff were efficient and friendly. The one thing which let this hotel down (and is echoed by other reviews) was the shabbiness of our room - the bathroom in particular could do with upgrading.

Date visited: 2008-02-12

Review by Anonymous on 8th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The position of the hotel. The breakfast & the helpfulness of the staff Bad Points: Although very nice, did feel £90 for the night was a little excessive General Review: Just stayed there fore the one night. On the whole thought that the hotel was positioned well for Salisbury and the setting by the river was very nice indeed. Think the best feature in all though had to be the helpfulness and friendiness of the hotel staff who may our one night stay a real pleasure.

Date visited: 2006-08-08

Review by Anonymous on 4th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Nice hotel with friendly staff in a picturesque location that serves good food. Bad Points: Nothing General Review: Would like to have known about the easy access to the town and cathedral by foot,or bicycle.

Date visited: 2006-06-04

Review by Jeffrey, Paso Robles on 28th May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The Staff Bad Points: Nothing General Review: What a great time we had. The staff was wonderful and the location is excellent. The short walk to Salisbury on Town Path is a must. We truely enjoyed watching the ducks on the Avon and having a few pints. The locals were so friendly they made us feel right at home. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good and service was quick. I am highly recommending Old Mill to our friends.

Date visited: 2006-05-28

Review by Anonymous on 12th January, 2005

Add your review
lovely accomodations/scenic/good access to city of Salisbury/very friendly accommodating service-Can't stress that enough!,nothing to complain about!,"Should we ever come back to Salisbury from the United States, we would not hesitate to stay here and recommend it to our friends. Like I said, the service was very good-one night we got back from town too late for dinner (the kitchen had closed by then) yet the chef went to the trouble to fix us dinner anyway, we really appreciated that! This hotel was one of the nicest memories of our stay in the United Kingdom."

Date visited: 2005-01-12

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A critic is a man who knows the way but can't drive the car. - Kenneth Tynan
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages