Old

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

May 2019: The North Cornwall Coast

For those who have decided for whatever reason – green conscience, the dreaded credit crunch, or maybe simple curiosity – to holiday in Britain this ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Rectory Hotel, Wem

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Damian on 2nd February, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Very pleasant , very good value . General review: Would stay again . Thanks .

Date visited: 2010-02-02

Review by Michael on 7th July, 2009

Add your review
General review: An excellent short stay fr what I needed.

Date visited: 2009-07-07

Review by john on 26th May, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: very clean/tidy. no hassle booking in/checking out. extra services ie. free dvd's, free wireless etc, only had breakfast but food quality very good. room rate very good. Bad Points: nothing - i would stay agin no problem if i had to be in that area General review: normally i like to see a picture of the room on the internet before i book, as i have paid lots of money out in the past and the rooms have been poor on arrival. i book online and stay away each week from 2-3 nights overall i was very impressed with the hotel

Date visited: 2008-05-26

Review by Gill on 9th December, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I have just spent the weekend at this hotel, and I can say I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. It's clean, the rooms are lovely, and it's set in beautiful surroundings. I can't believe the previous reviewer has stayed in the same hotel that we have just visited. The staff were SO helpful, and really very pleasant - especially the Assistant Manager, Callum, who made sure we were well looked after. The food at the hotel was fantastic aswell, all home cooked and using local produce. We will most definately be staying at this hotel again.

Date visited: 7-9th December 2007

Review by Anonymous on 27th November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: I was greeted very warmly and offered refreshments which were then brought up to my room. The service was very good and if asked about hotels in this area I would recommend this one. The food was very good. General review: Being a businessman having free access via WiFi to the internet is excellent.

Date visited: 2007-11-27

Review by S on 11th November, 2007

Add your review
This hotel must have gone down hill. It is in a beautiful building and location. But they seem to be having staff problems. I stayed there on buisness for a week and every day had to ask for something to be put right, the heating did not work properly, the television broke, the tea and coffe was not replenished, and then finally on a saturday night there was a deafening party with music and Dj beneath my bedroom, so loud it made the room shake and I could hear every word the dj said. It went on until 12.30 pm. All in all I felt more attention was being given to the day to day diners and visitors than someone who was staying 7 nights. The hotel looks good but I did not feel it delivered on its promise of care and attention to detail, service was very inconsistent and slow, waiting at reception for 10 minutes for my key because the waiter was also the check in person. I left feeling that the hotel was one of those that pretend to be something sepcial but do not live up to what thye think they are.

Date visited: November 2007

Review by S E Armstrong on 6th February, 2006

Add your review
The Old Rectory is a hidden gem in Wem! I was looking for accommodation closeby to Shrewsbury and stumbled upon this hotel on the internet. The accommodation was booked on first impressions and I wasn't disappointed, in fact my husband is adamant that we will return in the future for a longer stay. A lot of care and attention has gone into the furnishings and details of each room and it was a delight to stay there. Extremely comfortable. As I am always keen to enjoy a good breakfast when away from home I was particularly looking forward to sampling the cooked breakfast. There was a good variety on the breakfast menu for us and as usual I had a full english that was cooked to prefection and set me up for the day. Lastly, I hope that my husband and I have an opportunity to visit again in the not too distant future.

Date visited: 4/02/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There but for the grace of God goes God - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
The Second Battle of Lincoln - 1217, Shakespeare’s Sonnets Published - 1609, Battle of Wakefield - 1643, The Great Bexhill Waterspout and Tornado - 1729, The Last English Duel - 1845
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages