National Trust
Airth

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2014: Cardigan Bay

Cardigan Bay as a destination would be a tester for a professional explorer. Not in terms of terrain, though the Cambrian Mountains backing much ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Airth Castle Hotel & Spa Resort, Airth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by PAUL SKEATES on 16th September, 2008

Add your review
Without a shadow of doubt, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and should be closed down with immediate effect. I stay in around a dozen different hotels in different countries each year, and this sets new standards in 'take the money and offer nothing ' From the decepetion of thinking your staying in a castle, to the final check out, this hotel was a disgrace. The rooms were untidy, tatty and dirty, with paper coming off the walls, loose fittings, light bulbs that needed changing and shabby bathroom fittings. Then there was the wedding party, shouting and slamming doors or night..the place resembled a borstal more than a hotel. Then you go to the swimming pool..and you swim in complete darkness because they have no lights on, apart from a bit of natural light coming in. Don't bother complaining or filling in a questionaire, as no one is interested or will bother to reply to you. Just save your money and go to a proper hotel. This place is an insult to the word hotel.

Date visited: 21st June 2008

Review by John, York on 10th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: We had an excellent room with a good bathroom. We could open the window!! Bad Points: Only one bedside table, lighting arrangements could be better. General Review: We were looking for a quiet hotel in rural surroundings, not too formal, but good food. We found just what we were looking for, and other than one or two rowdy wedding guests in the grounds at midnight on Friday night we had no complaints whatwever about any aspect of the hotel. Staff were helpful and professional.

Date visited: 2006-08-10

Review by Annon on 18th June, 2006

Add your review
I was happy with the experience but felt the staff were not very customer service orientated which spoilt the stay a little.

Date visited: June 2006

Review by anne margaret gregg on 17th April, 2006

Add your review
my husband and i decided to book bed and breakfast for 1 night which we did and then read the reviews we were a little sceptical about going due to the bad reviews but what a great time we had we were made very welcome and enjoyed our stay and yes there wasnt a great view from our room but the room we had was in the resort 312 and was lovely we both couldnt find fault the staff were always polite and on hand to assist our needs the spa was really good and the girl there was also more than helpfull i would recommend anyone to go whether it was for a romantic weekend or with the family after all it is a hotel and thank you to the staff for all there help.....

Date visited: 8/4/2006

Review by elias on 8th April, 2006

Add your review
we really liked this large hotel. great architecture qand staff were good. 8/10

Review by Mark Wilson on 21st March, 2006

Add your review
Upon arrival, we pulled up at the picturesque castle featured all over the website, to find that we were not actually staying there, but in the converted stable block with the purpose built modern section built on which is not see at all on any of the pages of the website. The hotel has / is undergoing some renevations which are well needed with threadbare carpets and a very tired pool area. The rooms are comfortable, but feature none of the extras advertised on the site such as complimentary minerals, robes, slippers, DVD players and flat screen TVs in everyroom. The falldown of the modern hotel accomodation is that the hotel can sleep many more guests than it can feed with guests repeatedly having their evening meal reservations overlooked / forgotten. Those lucky enough to get a table then have to endure a long wait for their food and a constantly rotating selection of staff to serve the meal. Breakfast is more reminiscent of a holiday camp than a supposedly 4 star hotel with milling throngs waiting for fresh, limited supplies of food to be brought out by harassed members of staff.

Date visited: 17-19 Mar 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Suspense is worse than disappointment. - Robert Burns
More Quotes

On this day:
Birkenhead Has First Tram in Europe - 1860
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages