Norton

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2018: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Norton Park Hotel, Winchester

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 19th February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: The staff were friendly and helpful. Nice clean modern bathrrom with a powerful shower. Good hot breakfasts and decent tea which makes a change in a hotel. Bad Points: There was a complimentary meal as part of the offer on the first night and there were issues with both the starter and the main course for my partner and I. The restaurant manager was informed and offered the wine we had ordered as compensation. We used the pool facilities and noticed that the staff were walking through the pool area in their outdoor shoes. The shower area in the mens changing rooms was almost flooded and my partner managed to slip over on the wet floor when exiting the shower which cut his elbow. This was reported to a member of staff that evening. Couple of dusty patches that were obviously getting regularly overlooked beside the tea making facilities in the room (125). Better soundproofing required between bedrooms. The room above ours was occupied by a guest that seemed to suffer from insomnia and so passed their time by re-enacting Hannibal leading his elephants over the Alps. General review: All in all, a nice place to stay in beautiful surroundings

Date visited: 2009-02-19

Review by Sally on 15th August, 2008

Add your review
Iam surprised about some negative comments made about this hotel. We stayed the weekend of the 9th of August and even though there were weddings and the hotel being full the staff cetainly still really looked after us through out our stay. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds for walking and general site seeing and we really enjoyed being pampered in the health and beauty facilities. The only thing i would comment on to change is we found language barriers with front desk on one occasion. Will definately stay again

Date visited: 9th August 2008

Review by Gabriel on 11th August, 2008

Add your review
disappointing to look at from what photos on website showed. Confusing check-in procedure didn't spot I already paid in advance and didn't show me to my room. Pool is good if small, restaurant potions small and food slightly pretentious, staff good but neurotic or cocky. Rooms are good but linen change was dirty, TV was good, no fridge stock, bathroom was small with no tub (4 stars?!) with bits falling off wall. Too many weddings and lots of people with Burton suits and pints of lager everwhere. Large grounds but with nothin to do. Would not go back. Not cheap either. Beware.

Date visited: 8 August

Review by David Vale on 30th November, 2007

Add your review
Stayed for a weekend break with friends. Somewhat worried about previous reviews on this site. Problems seem to have been resolved. Staff were all friendly, polite and helpful. Food (dinner included in package) was very good. Rooms comfortable. Pool complex fine and never overcrowded. This is a large, modern hotel. Don't go there looking for individuality or character, but it is a comfortable place to stay in an interesting area.

Date visited: 23rd Nov 2007

Review by Lynda Smythe on 21st November, 2007

Add your review
we had a great 2 night stay in The Manor House at Norton Park Hotel last weekend. A tranquil setting with views of the lake and our room was extremely spacious and newly refurbished in lovely country house style. The dinner and breakfasts were very good and when we arrived late to breakfast on Monday morning the staff and chef were extremely accomodating and served us a full English with a pleasant attitude. We actually found all the staff really pleasant and helpful from our arrival to departure and the spa is beautiful. A nice touch was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room- a decent wine too. Would'nt hesitate to make another visit!

Date visited: 10/11/07

Review by B on 17th October, 2007

Add your review
Don't ever stay here when there are so many other hotels to choose from. Worst hotel I've ever been too.

Date visited: September 2007

Review by Anonymous on 3rd October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: New rooms, new facilities, comfortable bed, quiet room and good facilities. Reception and bar staff good. Bad Points: Only let down by breakfast rush that they seemd unable to cope with. Maybe a teething problem as quite new. Grass has yet to grow! Rooms on the small side. General review: Great hotel and good rooms, only let down by the staff not been able to cope with the rush at breakfast. Great wedding venue. better than most hotels I have stayed in recently including so called 5 star ones.

Date visited: 2007-10-03

Review by nick Barton on 27th July, 2007

Add your review
Dreadful.....from the frosty welcome at reception (where dealing with a complaint duty mgr was whispering jesus christ under his breath...to the maid walking in to our room an hour after arrival..to the overstaffed bar when there were 6 of us in there (5 bar staff) and understaffed when there 100 of us (2 bar staff)..to the really quite awful dinner (cost 130 and very ordinary)..to the fire alarm going off at 3am (no staff anywhere) that took 2 hours to switch off..to the maid again walking in to our room but this time at 8am (so about 4 hours sleep for us)..to the queues at breakfast...to the plates and glasses lying around on tables for hours...room keys not working and staff not interested..I could go on and on and on and on. Be Careful - this is an hotel that sucks you in with a cheap weekend rate and takes the piss price wise when you arrive. The place is totally without direction or managership and there were some astonishingly embarrassing mistakes (table next to ours got their mains before thier starter, 30 bottle of white wine served warm, didnt keep champagne or sparkling wine is a fridge either so we had to wait 30 minutes beofre buying one, bar staff poured champage in to metal measuring cup before serving (never ever seen that before) I do know what I am talking about - this is my web site and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the uk - can honestly say that this is the worst

Date visited: 22nd july 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A professor is someone who talks in someone else's sleep. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages