The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Swan at Streatley, Streatley on Thames

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Olivia, London on 14th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Pleasant room overlooking the river, quiet and peaceful. Bad Points: Duvet too warm for the summer! General Review: The Swan is a good hotel in a very attractive setting. The staff are mainly young and are friendly and obliging, but not polished. The hotel caters a lot for corporate events, weddings etc so does not have that personal touch or attention to detail that a smaller place can offer. However, the housekeeping is good and we were comfortable. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, but the breakfast was fine.

Date visited: 2006-07-14

Review by Olivia, London on 14th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Pleasant room overlooking the river, quiet and peaceful. Bad Points: Duvet too warm for the summer! General Review: The Swan is a good hotel in a very attractive setting. The staff are mainly young and are friendly and obliging, but not polished. The hotel caters a lot for corporate events, weddings etc so does not have that personal touch or attention to detail that a smaller place can offer. However, the housekeeping is good and we were comfortable. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, but the breakfast was fine.

Date visited: 2006-07-14

Review by Lynn, London on 12th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Comfortable, tastefully furnished hotel in beautiful surroundings. Bad Points: The bar food was overpriced but it would be nitpicking to say that this detracted from the overall experience. General Review: If you like comfortable, good quality accommodation situated in idyllic English countryside this place is for you. Be sure to pack some snesible shoes or walking boots as the riverside footpaths are well worth the effort in any weather.

Date visited: 2006-07-12

Review by Mark, Aylesbury on 29th March, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Bedrom spacious, but bathroom very small. Bad Points: Checking details - for example the plug in the bathroom basin leaked, and the showerhead was cracked. Potentially more serious was the extremely high temperature of the hot water - it needed a warning notice! Duvets are too hot.Would prefer a lighter one or blankets and sheets. General Review: The setting of The Swan is extemely attractive, and it is always pleasant to return, notwithstanding its minor faults. The staff are very obliging, too.

Date visited: 2006-03-29

Review by Sophia on 24th August, 2005

Add your review
It was spaceous and clean One thing that disappoints me many times, when we stay away is the condition of the shower and it was no different this time. The shower head was furred up with scale, the result being needle spray, which is both painful and time consuming as the spray is not adequate to give a satisfying shower.

Date visited: 2005-08-24

Review by Adam on 10th August, 2005

Add your review
The bed was comfortable, the view lovely, Breakfast was very good. Only complaint.the walls are very thin between bathrooms and we could clearly hear the people in the next room. If I was in the area I would use the hotel again. It was of the standard I expected, the website gave a good honest impression of how it would be.

Date visited: 2005-08-10

Review by Anonymous on 7th June, 2005

Add your review
we had the pleasure of a suite we found reception / sevice in the restaurant to be a little slow. however food was very good, break fast very good from pictures shown / history of hotel - we expected somthing of 'character' in a more olde worlde sense - so surprised , maybe slightly dissapointed at it's modernity.

Date visited: 2005-06-07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is not in nature, a thing that makes man so deformed, so beastly, as doth intemperate anger. - Alan Bleasdale
More Quotes

On this day:
Great London Tornado - 1091, Battle of Fornham - 1173, Battle of Neville Cross - 1346, Regicides Executed - 1660, London Beer Flood - 1814, 1st Professional Golf Tournament - 1860, First Motoring Offences in Britain - 1895, First Full-Scale British Air-raid - 1917, World’s First Fully Commercial Nuclear Power Plant Opened - 1956, Hatfield Rail Crash - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages