National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of New Inn, Amesbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by emma russell on 19th July, 2010

Add your review
Taking a group of French friends on a tour I realised it was 2 30pm and we needed some kind of lunch.We came to the "new inn" by accident.It was the nearest eating place to where we had parked the car.Next time we go ,we'll park the car there ,to be near the restaurant.Not only were we welcome to have a meal at 2 30(try that in a restaurant in France!)but we were served delicious food.The ladies went for Green lipped New Zealand mussels in a cream and white wine sauce.The gentlemen had lamb cooked in red wine.We all had a dessert and lunch finished at 3 45!The young waiter was efficient and charming.It is easy to compare since that same day ,we turned out at 8 45 pm in a pub near Salisbury where our b and b hostess had rung announcing we were on our way.When entering the place I distiinctly heard the bar maiD sigh and say OH iT MEANS i HAVE TO SERVE THEM FOOD.wE MADE A POINT OF ORDERING QUICLY SINCE THEY SERVE UNTIL 9!wHEN I ASKED ABOUT ORDERING SWEETS STRAIGHT AWAY i WAS ANSWERED THE COOK LEAVES AT 9...sO WE ATE QUICkLY,PAID AND WENT AT 9 30..The" yew tree" in a small village near Salisbury will never see us again.But the "New Inn"will be a landmarkto go back to.

Date visited: july 13th 2010

Review by Fances Davidson on 14th June, 2010

Add your review
visited the new inn for a sunday carvery and must say the food was great . You had a choice of beef , pork , or lamb . I had pork and beef and the crackling was to die for honey roast parsnips and carrots what more could you want . the staff were nice and friendly and they had a good solection of real ales .Where going again on Sunday .

Date visited: 13/06/10

Review by Lorraine on 8th June, 2010

Add your review
Have you ever heard the saying. Never judge a book by its cover? Well that is certainly true of The New Inn and its food. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary. We had already decided go somewhere special with our boys at the weekend. Still we thought we should do something on the actual day we decided to walk to The New Inn and give it a try. To be honest I was not expecting much. Was I ever wrong! We had obviously arrived early so the dining area was not fully set up for the evening. A white table cloth and polished cutlery soon arrived. My husband ordered rib eye steak as did I. Steak is such a simple meal to order, but how many times have you ordered a steak and had it arrive on your plate not as you requested? I like mine medium rare. Usually it turns up anywhere from still alive and trotting off the plate, to so over cooked it resembles shoe leather rather than an expensive cut of meat. I can honestly say it was one of the best cooked and tasty pieces of steak I have eaten in a long time. To top the evening off I looked at the desert menu and didnít fancy what was on offer. When the waitress appeared I said it was a shame that pavlova was not on the menu with that she disappears and comes back a moment later to say would meringue nests fresh fruit and cream be okay? A few moments later a confection of meringue, summer berries and cream was placed in front of me Needless to say it disappeared in seconds. As I said before I was not expecting much. Having eaten at The New Inn I can say with all honesty I could not have enjoyed a meal more, had it been served in an expensive restaurant.

Date visited: 7th June 2010

Review by GV on 8th June, 2008

Add your review
After visiting Stonehenge on a lovely sunny Sunday we decided to go for a Sunday Pub Lunch in the local town of Amesbury and I'm glad I didn't have lunch here. Lunch is served from 12pm -3 pm, we arrived at 11:55. Instead of being welcomed by the waitress on the bar her first comments were "How did you get in here we're not open?" We said we used the door. She then said "We're not open until 12 and we don't serve alcohol before then as it's a breach of the licensing laws, you can go and wait somewhere and come back when we're open" We actually weren't looking for alcohol, not everyone who walks into a pub needs to drink. So we left, out the same door we walked in, and to our amazement there was a guy sitting in the beer garden drinking a pint. Being the optimist that I am, I noticed the pint was half full, and this was at 11:55. I was a little confused as the waitress had just reminded me of the licensing laws that she assumed I was going to breach them. It would be such a shame to breach the licensing laws wouldn't it, maybe you can breach them to satisfy the needs of quite possibly the town drunk and turn away some people who were actually there to spend some money with a view to sharng their experince with others. If you want to have lunch after visiting Stonehenge, head into Salisbury. A much prettier and friendly town.

Date visited: 8th June 2008

Review by james on 9th May, 2007

Add your review
was at the new inn monday for there free pool nght.Going again on saturday because the rocket dogs are playing live,and last time they played they were fantastic we were all up dancing.The night was to short.good on you new inn for doing something for us younger lot your a great night out Thanks

Date visited: 9/5/07

Review by k on 27th November, 2006

Add your review
i had a great night out at the new inn, amesbury i went to watch a live band "the october effect" who were fantastic! the stables bar (an bar with stage situated in the garden) offers great deals on drinks and an alternative night out. theres not many places around the amesbury area you get to watch great live bands..FOR FREE!!!!! i'll be there again soon as i hear the comedien "sidney harbour" is booked for an hillarous stand up. it makes a refreshing change to have a such range of enterainment in this area that doesn't include karaoke and pub brawls!!! thumbs up new inn!!! thumbs up new inn

Date visited: 28th july 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
When a man is wrapped up in himself, he makes a pretty small package - John Ruskin
More Quotes

On this day:
French Surrender Quebec to the British - 1759, Theatre Royal Covent Garden Re-Opens - 1809, Darwin Sets Foot on Galapagos Islands - 1835, Jimi Hendrix dies in London - 1970
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages