Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Shelleys

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2014: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Shelleys Hotel, Lynmouth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by marie matthews on 20th October, 2012

Add your review
Great hotel! Immaculately clean,very friendly owners, magnificent sea views-they were very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant tips. Uncomplicated and easy 2 minute walk to harbour. Highly recommend.

Date visited: September 2012

Review by D Merry on 4th June, 2011

Add your review
Very very reasonable prices, perfect location central to everything, fabulous freshly cooked to order 5 star breakfasts. We have just got back from a 3 night stay, Shelley's is a warm and friendly hotel with everything you could wish for, we can't recommend it enough. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the room was to a very high standard and well decorated and looked the same as the pictures found on the website. All in all a very good hotel made even better by the friendly, helpful and informative hosts. The place to stay in Lynmouth - super hotel.

Date visited: May 2011

Review by Chris Crossland on 19th April, 2009

Add your review
Perfectly located hotel for all interests - hiking, bird watching, fishing, sightseeing, or gentle country walks in idyllic surroundings. Although this is a bed and breakfast hotel, there are charming and comfortable lounge and bar areas to sit and chat, have a game of scrabble, or read a book with a glass of wine. Your hosts are endlessly obliging, and will make you tea or coffee, and do anything they can to welcome you and make you feel at home. There are plenty of dining options within a five minute walk of the hotel, from a delicious pasty on a bench overlooking the bay, to excellent fish and chips or a busy gastropub. The nearby shops offer interesting small gifts and surprisingly, many excellent bargains. For an active or relaxing break, you couldn't do much better than Shelleys smart, comfortable (and informal) Hotel.

Date visited: April 2009

Review by Diane London on 1st November, 2008

Add your review
Best in Lynton & Lynmouth. Shelley’s is a wonderful small hotel, very comfortable and very smartly decorated with a touch of something special, a lovely looking hotel in a landmark location the heart of Lynmouth overlooking the bay. The hotel rooms are delightful, comfortable kingsize beds, sea views and some have delightful private conservatories. Breakfast is a real treat in itself, a wide choice all freshly cooked to order, no having to pre-order the night before. The coastline is stunning, Exmoor stirs the imagination, the contour of the dramatic cliffs, deep wooded valleys with tumbling streams and empty moors all make for a wonderful for a relaxing break. So if you want to treat yourself, Shelley’s gets my vote, it has to be the best in Lynton & Lynmouth.

Date visited: 24/10/08

Review by Karen Calve on 6th September, 2008

Add your review
We stayed at Shelley's in August for 3 nights as part of our 2 week touring holiday driving around the Devon & Cornwall, it was fabulous. Our hosts Jane & Richard made us feel very welcome, were knowledgeable about the area, and gave us good advice on where to dine. Shelley's has to be one of the best locations in Lynmouth with it's superb sea views from the breakfast room and nearly all of the bedrooms, the view across Lynmouth Bay from our conservatory balcony room was really lovely. Shelley's is decorated to a very high standard indeed, spotlessly clean, well presented and very tastefully furnished throughout. The freshly cooked to order breakfasts are just wonderful with a great choice of quality produce from a really excellent full breakfast to scrambled egg with smoked salmon, kedgeree, kippers, and waffles served with maple syrup. For a relaxing, peaceful, perfect holiday break, then Lynmouth is the place to go to get away from it all and enjoy the absolutely magnificent coast and countryside of Exmoor National Park. Overall we all wish we could have stayed longer and we will definitely come back again for a longer stay. After a fortnight on the road around the South West this was by far the best hotel, altogether a wonderful stay!

Date visited: August 2008

Review by Linda Hawk on 7th May, 2008

Add your review
Altogether a wonderful stay. Excellent warm welcome, assistance with bags and helpful advice. Fantastic location with sea & valley views. Well appointed lounge and dining room, both with lovely views. Superb breakfast with a large choice of food for personal menu selection each day, so you are able to choose as much or as little as you like. Many lovely touches, the bedroom well presented and furnished. Recommend unreservedly.

Date visited: April 07

Review by S Fox on 1st November, 2007

Add your review
We had three lovely days at Shelleys, a few years ago we stopped at Shelleys for a couple nights and always promised ourselves that we would return. Shelley’s is lovely with really great standards in a very informal way but Jane & Richard are always on hand if you need any help. Large, comfortable beds with good quality furnishings and a few really nice touches and attention to detail that gave a feeling of luxury and breakfast really is as good as previous reviews say, hearty with plenty of choice The best rooms are the conservatory balcony rooms, it was a fabulous place to sit and take in the splendid views. The extra we paid was fully justified, the rate was very fair and their Exmoor Breaks offer is excellent value. Location is as central as you could wish for and Lynmouth makes a great base from which to explore Exmoor National Park, whatsmore there are lots of places to eat in the evening to suit all pockets. Shelley's is very highly-recommended and having spent too many long hours in airport lounges we will definitely be returning next year.

Date visited: Oct 2007

Review by Jill Thurston on 17th May, 2007

Add your review
We had a good journey home but are missing Shelley's and Lynmouth already! We had a wonderful mini-break - the hospitality is fantastic, the food superb and the room and location was just what we were hoping for. I really loved the huge supply of magazines and books and all the little finishing touches that make one feel so welcome and looked after. Just the thing to recharge the batteries. Thanks again for a lovely few days - we look forward to coming again soon when "they let us out"!

Date visited: 10th May

Review by Elaine Genthe on 5th April, 2007

Add your review
We stayed 2 nights at Shelley's and absolutely loved it. Jane & Richard are just great hosts, and we felt we were staying in their home, not a hotel. The place is spotlessly clean, and I had one of the best night's sleeps I have ever had in a hotel bed. The breakfast on the Sunday morning was delicious. Recommend it unreservedly, we will definitely stay again. .

Date visited: March 2007

Review by Sue Beamish on 12th May, 2006

Add your review
What a fantastic place! We travelled a long way to get to Shelley's but it was really worth it. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and found Jane & Richard to be very efficient and very friendly. Our room was beautifully appointed - the complimentary afternoon tea & coffee on arrival was a nice touch! Shelley's has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The location is stunning as the hotel sits overlooking Lynmouth Bay, we had a Conservatory Balcony Room which was amazing. Breakfasts really set you up for the day, we shall definitely go back to Shelley's in the Autumn and recommend it highly particularly if you're looking for some rest and relaxation.

Date visited: 2nd May 2006

Review by Rory Riden on 22nd August, 2005

Add your review
We selected Shelleys by chance for a trip to Devon, the hotel is very comfortable, rooms well appointed, the bar cozy and the owners - Jane & Richard very welcoming. Shelley's provides an ideal base for the area, excellent restaurants within walking distance, beautiful coastal walks, places to visit nearby. If you are coming to North Devon stay here. Excellent accommodation, lovely & quiet, great airy rooms, top class breakfast, don't wish to say too much as there are not many rooms & we may struggle to get re-booked when we go back!

Date visited: August 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
You don't have to be the Dalai Lama to tell people that life's about change - John Cleese
More Quotes

On this day:
Richard the Lionheart Captured - 1192, A draw in the General Election - both sides get 272 seats - 1910, Harry Ramsden opens 1st Fish and Chip Shop - 1928, Greatest Underground Fire in History - 1984
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages