Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Coppingham Arms, Horley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Hils on 8th January, 2010

Add your review
Always looking out for something new and exciting I am pleased to report that at last something for everyone to enjoy has just opened. The Coppingham has been turned into an oasis for drinkers and foodies alike! A relaxed clean, fresh and friendly bar one side, where whether you are a local or just visiting, you will be made welcome to come in and have a few drinks and a chat and a laugh, or have a drink and order a take away! Whilst around the other side of the bar you can go through to the newly decorated serene and comfortable restaurant called Jai Ho where you can enjoy an exciting selection of interesting Indian/Asian fusion foods, the menu also includes a wide choice of wonderful vegetarian dishes too. The wine list is good, and has a range of wines all reasonably priced. My husband and I have visited The Coppingham several times and the welcome and service by the owners and staff has always been exceptional, the food has always been fresh and tastes superb. Both the take away and home delivery services are also very good.

Date visited: 17.12.09

Review by A Number One Fan on 6th January, 2010

Add your review
Always looking out for something new and exciting I am pleased to report that at last a place for everyone to enjoy has just opened. The Coppingham has been turned into an oasis for drinkers and foodies alike! A relaxed clean, fresh and friendly bar one side, where if you are a local, or just visiting, you will be made welcome to go in, have a few drinks, a chat and a laugh, or have a drink and order a take away! Whilst around the other side of the bar you can go through to the newly decorated serene and comfortable restaurant called Jai Ho where you can enjoy an exciting selection of interesting Indian/Asian fusion foods, the menu includes a wide choice of wonderful vegetarian dishes too. The wine list is good, and has a range of wines reasonably priced. My husband and I have visited The Coppingham several times to have a drink and to eat, the welcome and service by the owners and staff has always been great, the food has always been fresh and tastes superb. Both the take away and home delivery services are also very good. Highly recommended!!

Date visited: 14/12/2009

Review by Krishan Sapra on 5th January, 2010

Add your review
This pub is under new management and has a wonderful Indian restaurant. The food as well as being delicious is also great value. The staff are really welcoming and friendly. WELL WORTH A VISIT.

Date visited: h December 2009

Review by Simon on 1st August, 2009

Add your review
At last decent managers who seem to care about the Coppingham. The food served was top class. My wife and I will certainley call in again as the welcome we recieved was a big improvement from last time. Lets hope the owners let these managers stay.

Date visited: 27/07/2009

Review by Gemma Parkes on 22nd July, 2009

Add your review
The latest landlord manager and barman have come and gone already and it looks like the latest will also soon be heading for the hills. This pub is doing a faster trade in staff than it is in beer or food sales The sooner the tenants throw in the towel, the better, and this good old bub can get back to where it was

Date visited: 17.07.09

Review by Sue on 23rd June, 2009

Add your review
Only stopped for a quick break, nice pint real ale, bottle of cider and a cup of tea. don't know what all these other reviewers moaning about the prices unless they all drink in a wetherspoons, prices comparable with Worthing and Littlehampton. We are regular pub and restaurant visiters and met the new to be landlord in Margate recently look forward to new none thai menu.

Date visited: 14th June

Review by Tony on 25th March, 2009

Add your review
Approaching from the Crematorium, this pub will be on your right along the Balcombe Rd, you are doing OK, - keep going into Horley for a decent drink at sensible prices. Dreadful pub with a split personality, Thai food washed down with local bitter, Yuk.

Date visited: 16.03.09

Review by Susan toms on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
Decided to try the Thai cuisine and as the previous reviewer noted poor food on dirty cracked plates in a virtually empty establishment. I can only presume the small man behind the bar was standing in for the manager as his attitude and service was truly woefull. I still remember when this was a great little pub with a sensible menu and best of all....customers. It is no suprise that the Thai restaurant in Horley itself is doing so well, no competition at all....Awful.

Date visited: 07/03/09

Review by Matt on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
I hear locally that the Management have been banning people some more, this time a old regular, no harm to anybody, drinks half bitters - because they didn't think his dress code was compatible with their clientelle. What clientelle, pray tell ? Dont understand it, empty pub being further emptied

Date visited: 8th March 2009

Review by Neil and Sarah on 7th March, 2009

Add your review
We went for a thai meal to see if the food was any good. The pub seems nice enough, although the juxtaposition of a few locals getting beered up on a Friday night and some small groups trying to enjoy a decent thai meal doesn't really work too well. I was surprised the bar staff kept my card behind the bar - strictly speaking it's not good practice, but whatever, she didn't seem the type to be copying cards. The food was decent enough, but came on chipped plates (about 3 out of 5 we saw had chips in), which doesn't give the best impression. When paying, we didn't get given an itemised receipt, and who knows if there was a service charge in there - for 30-odd quid i wasn't going to bother, but it's unlikely we'll be going back

Date visited: March 09

Review by Peter on 14th January, 2009

Add your review
New Year's Eve at The Coppingham Arms - it's 10pm, 2 hours to go to midnight By the bar, a jolly crowd of 5 In the Thai resteraunt, a heaving party of 7 Speaks Volumes - service was quick though

Date visited: 31.12.08

Review by jane warrener on 16th November, 2008

Add your review
After reading the latest review decided to give "The Cop" another try.An almost empty restaurant, a completely empty bar! not a good start. The real ales are obviously not selling but are usefull if you are having chips! The beer prices are not comparable with the rest of Horley and the other pubs have the advantage of their beer is drinkable! An awfull half hour and no improvement at all, surely they will cut their ongoing losses and return it to a proper local. Awful....

Date visited: 14/11/08

Review by Peter Lynch on 25th October, 2008

Add your review
The Management seems to have a death wish, on what appears to be a weekly basis, someone gets barred for slightest reason. In addition, a rigid rule on kids after a certain time, to the minute, results in confrontation and the walking out of potentially 6 or more full meals + drinks, with mutters of never going there again. In an attempt to disuade desperatly needed customers, this crew are experts. Wont survive after Xmas and then the pub might get back to its old normal with correct management who have a correct eye of what this pub needs, and the hoards will return

Date visited: Barred for speaking an opinion

Review by tim on 13th September, 2008

Add your review
We are local to the pub and use it quite regularly. We feel that some of the criticism is a little unfair. Yes the pub used to be a lovely little locals pub full of nooks and crannies. However, Punch Taverns took it over and ripped the heart out of the place turning the interior into a wide open heartless place. Then licencees were inserted by Punch, if you had a template for how not to run a pub they would have fitted it. They proceeded to upset locals by rudeness, food poisoning, poorly kept beer and in order to try and generate cash for the business, a poorly conceived plan to build a huge mobile phone mast in the back garden. A plan which produced a petition against the plan signed by over 200 locals together with considerable coverage in local news. The licensees and Punch carried on with the plan in the face of this - for many locals this was the final straw and all local support was lost. There is much more that could be said about this sorry period, but in a nutshell the locals turned against it. The pub has now been taken over again and a Thai restaurant put in. The new owners scrapped the mast plan. The food in the Thai Restaurant is absolutely lovely and deserves far more people eating it. The new owners have improved the look of some of the front of bar with nice leather sofas and bare wood, but the restaurant area still looks very naff. The prices could be lower for drink but is comparable with other Horley boozers - ignoring the Jack Fairman in the middle of town. There is always a nice selection of real ales on tap and they are well kept. The new owners are also trying to get the locals back but people have a long memory and sad to say the pub does lack the atmosphere of a vibrant pub. Had the new owners made a big splash about the change of ownership then things may be different, but I think the majority of Horley still believes it is under the same ownership.

Date visited: August

Review by Lucy Cummings on 1st July, 2008

Add your review
I concur with everything that my colleague Neil Bellis said, other than I had a tonic and had to wait for him to finish his pint, would have been happy to have left 2 mins after walking in.

Date visited: 29/6/08

Review by Dave Adams on 26th May, 2008

Add your review
Recently paid a return visit to The Coppingham a pub I used as a local for many years.I cant believe anyone could spoil a pub quite this badly! Firstly no Stella, then no Carling, virtually no customers...amazing.Then we get to the prices far and away the highest in Horley and what beer they did have was flat! Never mind poor overpriced beer and no customers...lets try the food. We settled on the ribs as they seemed fairly priced and you guessed it...they had run out! All in all a disaster, best avoided, but then again it seems everyone has avoided it. Truly awful.

Date visited: 25/05/08

Review by Heather on 29th February, 2008

Add your review
What a great pub, at last we have found a local pub with good food and good prices, we visit on a regular basis and always enjoy our visit.

Date visited: 24/02/2008

Review by Roly on 7th January, 2008

Add your review
What have they done to the place?!! The pub was one of the last proper locals in the area - its been thoroughly spoilt - its empty - more staff than customers - wierd menu - wierd decor - no sausages!

Date visited: 6/1/08

Review by Suzi Head on 3rd January, 2008

Add your review
The service was fantastic mainly due to the lack of customers...the staff out numbered us 2-1. The beer was quite good untill I got to paying...no wonder it was empty. I had visited this establishment previously and found it warm friendly and loads of atmosphere...not to mention sensible prices. The vibrant public bar is a sad memory, and the food a very strange choice of a thai restaurant that was COMPLETELY empty. During the course of my visit we were the only customers and mentioning this to the manager he explained that this was the norm. A great shame that this establishment has been copmpletely changed and utterly ruined.

Date visited: 02/01/2008

Review by Peter Lynch on 26th November, 2007

Add your review
New tenants have totally lost the plot. This pub was a hub of community, now a very sad last chance saloon - sit where you like as empty most of the time, other than strangers who don't know better No pool table, no kids, no dogs, no scruffy builders dress, coupled with highest beer prices in Horley = no customers Well and truly shot themselves in the foot, and deserved Now attending alternative pub, along with some 50 other regulars

Date visited: 07/11/07

Review by Stuart & Annette Ritchie on 18th November, 2007

Add your review
what a lovely local pub this used to be. But it seems like it has been ruined by the new owners - its always empty and without atmosphere - wont be going there again

Date visited: 16/11/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A well-written life is almost as rare as a well-spent one. - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
Six Month Frost Begins - 1076, First Known Performance of Othello - 1604, The Tempest First Performed - 1611, Premium Bonds go on Sale - 1956, Channel 4 transmits for 1st time - 1982, BSE identified in UK - 1986
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages