National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Blacksmiths Arms, Alton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by The Roses on 13th August, 2011

Add your review
I stayed at The Alton Towers Hotel with my family, which included 2 children. We made the mistake of eating at the hotel on our first night because it turned out to be very expensive for what it was. On our second night we took the short 5 minute drive to the village of Alton and came across The Blacksmiths Arms Alton. (Turn left out of the resort). We couldn't fault the restaurant at all. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. There was a large choice of food both from the standard menu and the specials board. All the food was reasonably priced, especially in comparison to the hotel. We weren't rushed and the children were well catered for. We ate there for 2 evenings. We will definitely eat here again for the duration of our next stay at the Alton Towers Hotel. The chicken wings come highly recommended by the 5 of us.

Date visited: 9th & 10th August 2011

Review by Alex Tuckley on 9th June, 2011

Add your review
Not sure if this has been taken over but we thought it was terrible. We were staying at the Alton Towers Hotel, and on arrival at 7 they said we couldn't get a table until 9 so we decided to eat in the village, we came across The Blacksmith Arms and thought the menu looked ok and ordered our food at 7.45pm, my husband had the steak, requesting no peas, which was quite pricey at 14.95 and I had the burger at 8.95 with an extra 2.00 for chips, which I thought was pricey too - their claim on their menu was not fast food, good food - too right it wasn't fast, it wasn't busy at all and the food eventually arrived at 8.50pm, my husbands meal had peas on it, and my chips came out about 4 minutes after my burger and they were not cooked properly and cold - it was average and I didn't finish it, we never complained, just left as we had to pay in advance. Others were waiting when we left who had ordered not long after us. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant as looks can be very deceiving!

Date visited: 5th June 2011

Review by Mr.Callow on 4th March, 2010

Add your review
i arrived at this pub not really expecting much after visiting other pubs in the area and eating at Alton towers, however i was pleasently surprised by the food. There was an excellent special board and a broad menu. I had an excellent steak, and my wife had salmon with how she descibed "a buetiful tomato sauce", and my son made his own pizza, which i thought was a charming touch to the country pub, my starter was also great and this is not a word i use often and the soup was superb, the service was left a little to the imagnation but did not ruin the food. i would like to thank the chef who spoke to me and could not rate his mentor and the public house for the excellent job. Thankyou.

Date visited: June 2009

Review by Adam Burton on 1st October, 2005

Add your review
This is an excellent restaurant with a well balanced atmosphere, and great staff. Both the food and ales/beers are brilliant and complement the situation of the pub to the tee. During the summer months The Blacksmiths Arms is filled with Alton Towers customers, but is just as busy during the winter months with local business. This truely is a fantastic PUB!!! Hope to see you there for many merry nights!!!!

Date visited: During the last 18 years

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Whenever people talk to me about the weather I always feel certain that they mean something else - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
James VI of Scotland crowned James I of England. - 1603, Nelson Loses his Arm - 1797, Stephenson demonstrates 1st Steam Engine - 1814, 1st Scout Camp - 1907, Louis Bleriot flies the Channel - 1909, First Test Tube Baby Born - 1978
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages