National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Barn Inn, Tealby

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Dianne Dunkin on 25th March, 2012

Add your review
Went with friends last night for meal. Excellent food at reasonable prices and very friendly welcoming staff. Will definately be going back!

Date visited: 24/03/2012

Review by Elizabeth Omond-Tong on 5th January, 2012

Add your review
As a local costumer, who owns a 4x4! I would not dream of bringing a soaking dog into any facility that serves food, due to hygiene. It is common knowledge that Dogs are not usually permitted inside a public house unless it is a guide dog (not an irish wolf hound!!)

Date visited: Dec 2011

Review by Lisa Wickens on 3rd January, 2012

Add your review
We visited this pub had a fantastic lunch, couldn't fault the food or even the staff ( most gracious ). How anyone would expect to bring dogs into a Public House where food is being served is of a strange consequece ? I wouldn't expect to have to eat where animals are present in an open area of both bar and restaurant. I did notice this venue has a large covered outside seating area ( patio ) complete with heaters so fail to see a problem. as many a time we have walked and sat out there with no problem with our dogs, they even provide a water bowl. Best pub in the area for us.

Date visited: 26/12/2011

Review by michael on 19th December, 2011

Add your review
after a 5 mile walk, an unfriendly bar maid turned us away because we had a dog. pretensions of grandeur. Where has the village pub gone? Full of 4x4 incomers? Avoid this pub at all costs,

Date visited: 19 dec 2011

Review by Heders on 11th November, 2011

Add your review
I would just like to say that the food at the old barn is fantastic and highly recomend it to any one , one of the best places in lincs area looking forward to my christmas party there

Date visited: 09.10.11

Review by don on 1st November, 2011

Add your review
visited the barn on sunday for a sunday roast after it was recommended to me,,all i can say is ,,the beef just melted in my mouth and plenty of it ..excelant and a welcome experance ,thanks to mine host paul and lorraine ,compliments to the chef ..just read the review from vin heron and cant be sure we are talking about the same old barn (tealby) we will be back soon ..

Date visited: 30 10 2011

Review by Vin Heron on 24th September, 2011

Add your review
I thought the owner had a bit of an offhand attitude when we were at the bar waiting for our first drink but put it down to my oversensitiveness. After quite a wait, the starters eventually arrived and there was soil in the lettuce. We complained and the plates were whisked quickly away. Nothing that we could recognise as an apology were given by any of the staff. My wife stated quite firmly to the staff that she didn’t want lettuce with her main course. No comment from the staff. Main course arrived. My wife had a cracked plate which didn’t go down well with her but she said nothing. As she was about to eat some cabbage, I spotted something and asked her what it was. On closer examination, it turned out to be a sautéed beatle. One of the staff was called and the beetle was pointed out to her. She replied “so what do you want me to do about it?”. Wrong answer. And that’s when my wife exploded and stated “Soil in my lettuce now a beatle in my dinner”. The repeated reply from the staff of “so what do you want me to do about it?” just raised my wifes volume. The Owner (?) came over and very aggressively told us to us to keep it down and and get out. REALLY wrong statement. I started to point out fairly calmly that soil in the lettuce then a bettle in the cabbage were not really what we expected. The Owner modified his attitude somwewhat and asked us to "leave please". We did so with pleasure wondering what else had been in the food that we had not noticed...??? People in the restaurant business should provide food that is fit for purpose, of a reasonable quality and cleanliness. If they cannot, or cannot understand this requirement then they should get out of the business.

Date visited: 24/09/11

Review by Vin Heron on 24th September, 2011

Add your review
I thought the owner had a bit of an offhand attitude when we were at the bar waiting for our first drink but put it down to my oversensitiveness. After quite a wait, the starters eventually arrived and there was soil in the lettuce. We complained and the plates were whisked quickly away. Nothing that we could recognise as an apology were given by any of the staff. My wife stated quite firmly to the staff that she didn’t want lettuce with her main course. No comment from the staff. Main course arrived. My wife had a cracked plate which didn’t go down well with her but she said nothing. As she was about to eat some cabbage, I spotted something and asked her what it was. On closer examination, it turned out to be a sautéed beatle. One of the staff was called and the beetle was pointed out to her. She replied “so what do you want me to do about it?”. Wrong answer. And that’s when my wife exploded and stated “Soil in my lettuce now a beatle in my dinner”. The repeated reply from the staff of “so what do you want me to do about it?” just raised my wifes volume. The Owner (?) came over and very aggressively told us to us to keep it down and and get out. REALLY wrong statement. I started to point out fairly calmly that soil in the lettuce then a bettle in the cabbage were not really what we expected. The Owner modified his attitude somwewhat and asked us to "leave please". We did so with pleasure wondering what else had been in the food that we had not noticed...??? People in the restaurant business should provide food that is fit for purpose, of a reasonable quality and cleanliness. If they cannot, or cannot understand this requirement then they should get out of the business.

Date visited: 24/09/11

Review by laura on 20th May, 2011

Add your review
Went to The Olde Barn Inn which has just reopened in march food menu home cooked fare too a high standard ,great atmosphere very helpful staff .the duck with cherry sauce was fantastic couldnt finish my dessert.in my eyes 4 star welcome back.

Date visited: 19 /05/ 2011

Review by Sue Baker on 20th September, 2010

Add your review
A thoroughly disappointing meal, the small amount of meat in the pie was hung in fat, the lamb burger was pink in the centre. Upon asking for gravy, I got a cold receiption and told there was plenty in the pie, there was actually only a small amount of mushroom sauce, no gravy. Very pricey and poor value

Date visited: Tues 14th September 2010

Review by JH on 30th August, 2010

Add your review
Terrible reception. Staff were very sour-faced when we walked through the door at 1.50pm. We were told that food was being stopped at 2pm and would not be able to cater for our party of four. For crying out loud, this is August Bank Holiday weekend, what is supposed to be one of the busiest travelling and tourist weekends of the year and this establishment turns away four guests. No wonder this country is on its knees when it has to contend with this type of approach to business and potential customers. We left in total disgust and ate in Market Rasen instead. Sorry Old Barn, you lost out on our custom today in addition to any future business from us. We do not recommend you to anyone if this is what you offer. It is frustrating to think that despite the large increase in the number of people taking their holidays in the UK combined with this being the last long weekend of the summer and also the final week of the school holidays that one is met by such poor quality of response (I am loathed to put service as there was no service at all)

Date visited: 30th August 2010

Review by Bev Walker on 19th August, 2010

Add your review
Fab food and excellent service. My husband and I were staying at the campsite in Walesby, taxi dropped us off but we hadn't booked, we were told they were fully booked but welcome to stay for a drink, we must have looked very disappointed as we were late told that if someone left early enough we could have their table. What luck, the landlady came over and said they may have a table for 2 and could squeeze us in. We didn't feel squeezed in at all, we were given first class service and the food was excellent, wish i had a bigger belly to fit it all in, after the chefs pate with plenty of bread and salmon encroute poached in a shrimp sauce AND a taste of my husbands fillet steak, i just couldn't fit in a desert, but no fear i will be going back again and have already recommended to all my friends.

Date visited: 13/10/2010

Review by Food Hunter on 13th July, 2010

Add your review
Having heard good reviews I was disappointed with the food. My husband felt his lasagne was very tasty, but that was the high point of the meal. My mother chose steak and ale pie, which had a huge overblown pie crust and the waitress offered to empty the contents for her. Naturally, we all expected her to take the meal and plate into the kitchen but she decided to use her tea towel and decant the quite runny gravy and meat onto the plate at the table! It was amazing that no-one was scalded. The meat was quite average. My friend's fish dish was quite dull and I went for pork wrapped in bacon with apricots as I was intrigued how that could be a good combination. It wasn't! The vegetables served with the meal were fine. The desserts were pleasant enough but not outstanding. All in all a disappointing meal and expensive...

Date visited: 1/7/10

Review by Steve Appleby on 27th July, 2009

Add your review
having heard so many good reports about the barn myself and my wife together with two friends paid a visit to the barn.Wow we were not disappointed the service was excellent and the food even better,we were made to feel so welcome we were not rushed at any time first class service We'll be back for sure,thanks to all at the Old Barn

Date visited: 25/7/09

Review by Maria Smith on 3rd September, 2008

Add your review
We booked for Lunch on Saturday afternoon, after being recommended to this place by some friends. The food was superb and the staff just couldn't do enough for us. My husband ordered from the Black Rock menu, which meant he could cook his steak how HE wanted it, at the table. This was a fantastic experience. We have now booked for the next four weekends to go there with friends and family. Well worth the visit. The only thing is, you feel like you should keep this a secret so that nobody can spoil it for you. 11/10 for service, quality and decor. And a lovely area outside for the smokers.

Date visited: 30th August 2008

Review by Paul Hulance on 12th August, 2008

Add your review
Must be the best restaurant in Lincolnshire, food was absolutely fantastic and the staff were brilliant, great atmosphere! will be going back regular and sending all who I know there also.

Date visited: july 08

Review by s palmer on 20th January, 2008

Add your review
cant wait to expieriance the new old barn inn.. heard great reports

Date visited: under new management

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
No man can lose what he never had. - Izaak Walton
More Quotes

On this day:
The Battle of Myton-on-Swale - 1319, Vegetarian Society Formed - 1847, Jack the Ripper Kills twice in one Day - 1888, The discovery of penicillin - 1928, BBC begins TV Transmissions - 1929, Chamberlain Proclaims Peace for our Time, - 1938, Bourne End Rail Crash - 1945, Thunderbirds Are Go! - 1965, Radio 1 goes on air - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages