National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Manor House at Quorn, Quorn

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by r on 1st May, 2012

Add your review
Main meal was luke warm, like it had been left on the side for a while Over priced Unfriendly, rude staff Worst restaurant I have ever been to

Date visited: 30th april 2012

Review by Penny Smith on 24th January, 2012

Add your review
Do wish I had checked the reviews before I booked - I usually do!! Family met up for Sunday lunch as a birthday celebration: vegs and gravy quite tasty although I had to hunt under the yorkshire pudding for my meagre and chewy two tiny slices of lamb, and ask for more vegetables (only enough for 3 and six eating). The service was awful - after being there for some time had to go and fetch menu, then had to go up to the bar to see if anyone could take our order. Young girls who waited on our table were inept and quite rude...certainly no tip! Really disappointed - felt quite tearful as I had arranged the family get together....GO ELSEWHERE! (also about 3 for a coke....)

Date visited: 22.01.2012

Review by Chris Dredge on 18th July, 2011

Add your review
Dreadful food. No Sunday roast available in spite of booking well in advance. Too late for anywhere else so had the 'joke' 8oz rump steak times 3. The combined weight of the three would have struggled to make 8 oz, & I doubt it was rump. 3mm thick, bitty & gristly. At 71.00 for 4 the worst value & quality meal I've experienced. Thank god the waitress was good. Never again.

Date visited: 17th July 2011

Review by Hannah on 27th April, 2011

Add your review
We pre-paid for a three course meal but only received a main course and a dessert - the starter never came out so we sat for over half an hour without food. The manager on the night was extremely rude - our waiter informed her about the situation with the starters as soon as it happened but did not apologise in person until we asked to see her at the very end of the meal. After our dessert, we ordered a drink of tea for two (as this was included in the price) and were disgraced that my mum's cup did not have a handle. In return we were offered a free drink each - the waiters neglected us most of the evening so we never even received them. Plus the value of 2 drinks was did not come close to the value we had already paid for the two starters. Overall we had a terrible experience at this restaurant as the manager didn't seem to care less about what had happened and the food is overpriced for what it is. Eat there at your own risk!!!

Date visited: 23rd April 2011

Review by Hannah on 26th April, 2011

Add your review
Before visiting the restaurant we had pre-paid for a 3 course meal. When we got there we ordered a starter each, waited for over half an hour and then were very confused when they brought out our main courses first. No sign of our starters (which we had already paid for) or of the manager to explain the situation and give us an apology in person. Instead, the manager passed on a message to our waiter to tell us that we could have a complimentary drink - for the rest of the night we were completely ignored by the unfriendly and unattentive waiters and never did get our free drink. To top it all off, we had a cup of tea at the end of our meal and were given a cup without a handle! When we brought this to the manager's attention, she did not show any concern or appear surprised by it at all but grudgingly offered to email us vouchers (to the value of the starters that we had paid for but never received). No sign of the vouchers. I have emailed the restaurant since but have not heard anything from them. I've given up hope that i'll get the vouchers and do not feel like a valued customer. This is the last time I eat here!

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Katie Goddard on 11th April, 2011

Add your review
We had never heard of the Manor House before but, after visiting the Heritage Railway, we were feeling hungry so we walked the few yards to it from the station at Quorn. Despite not having booked a table we recieved a warm welcome when we entered the packed restaurant and only had to wait a few minutes while a recently vacated table was prepared for us. The food was truly excellent - I had a fillet steak to die for - and the deserts were also irresistable! The service was extremely efficient whilst being very customer-friendly and we will definitely recommend this eating establishment to our friends should they come to this area.

Date visited: 10/04/11

Review by Joy on 6th October, 2010

Add your review
After finding the Manor House on their website, we decided to visit for our anniversary. BIG MISTAKE! We both chose the Duck with plum and saki dressing for a stater.... where was the plum and saki dressing, all we got was a cheap olive oil. The main course was ok but I was missing my sauted potatoes and when they arrived I had nearly finished my meal and they were just deep fried potatoes. My husbands meal was also missing his cashew nuts and honey and chilli drizzle. We were not made to feel welcome and were rushed through the meal. Not worth the 45 minutes travel to get there.

Date visited: 6.10.2010

Review by Jennifer on 16th November, 2009

Add your review
A sunday lunch to die for! Great service Great value for money Prompt and hot!! Very good waitress service. If the pennies would allow i would be here every sunday, Would definately recommend and go again and again.......!

Date visited: 15/11/09

Review by Jonny Eldridge on 11th May, 2008

Add your review
7 seasoned diners decided to celebrate my birthday here with a meal. Hopes were high with the impressive website, menu, location and gourmet society write up. The prices also suggested something special was in store. How wrong we were! Where to start? Poor quality tasteless Scallops, burnt base on the mushroom tart, the lentil burger could be used as a punishment (each mouthful took around 15 minutes to eat and had to be washed down with water), the 'famous' beef and guiness pie had decent quality meat in but just tasted bland and salty with no imagination. Everything else was bland bland bland and at the price represents the worst Value for Money we've encountered in a long time. By all means enjoy a drink here but if you are eating - go elsewhere!

Date visited: 10 May 08

Review by Mrs Wilkinson on 16th December, 2007

Add your review
We waited for about 40 mins to be seated despite being told initially that we would be seated in 10 mins + despite reminding the staff that we were waiting + despite there being at least 2-3 empty tables at any given time. Those empty tables and many more were still empty when we left - hence they were not even reserved! Even though the waitress who served our food was very good, the other staff, especially the management was unfriendly. The food was rather mediocre. I would not go back again.

Date visited: 16 December 2007

Review by Matthew Brown on 20th May, 2007

Add your review
Heavily hyped up restaurant that fails to live up to its billing. Food is heavily overpriced for both the quality and portion sizes, although they did manage to add a large and well cooked fly to one of our dishes. The combination of four puddings was a real disappointment. Waitress service is unfriendly and unattentive.

Date visited: 20/5/07

Review by Keith on 30th November, 2006

Add your review
When I recently visited The Manor House, I sat in the bar area. Despite there only being 3 other tables occupied and the waitress passing my table several times, no service had been offered after 20 minutes. At this point I left. I have written to the owner over two weeks ago and to date not had a reply. Originally a well intentioned restaurant but badly slipping since the opening of a second restaurant.

Date visited: 6 Nov 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
At night, when the curtains are drawn and the fire flickers, my books attain a collective dignity. - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Law passed allowing Jews to serve in parliament - 1858, Great Reform Demo - 1866, Prince Andrew marries Sarah Ferguson - 1986
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages