National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Prince of Wales, Hertford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mr Masters on 9th May, 2011

Add your review
stopped here for a drink on a hot day, but would not bother again, place was dirty, loud music that no one seemed to be listening to outisde lots of dirty glasses, and old fag ends not very nice

Date visited: 30/04/11

Review by M and J on 20th February, 2010

Add your review
Food- Bland and tasteless Staff- surly and unhelpful atmosphere - none place was empty would not reccomend a shame because looks nice from outside, next time we are passing will continue to drive by.

Date visited: Feb 2010

Review by David & Sarah on 10th January, 2010

Add your review
We recently visited the Prince of Wales after some friends had told us it had been done up. We were unfortunately left disappointed. Although it's had a lick of paint it is decorated in very bad taste. What was a country pub now has quite garish decor. Cheep metal coffee bar style seating, and disco lights. It wasn't what we were after from a village pub. But what left us most disappointed was the manor of the bar staff/land lord. He seamed to have had some sort of falling out with someone and made it quite clear that serving me and my wife with a sarcastic smile was something he could do without. In addition there was quite a strange uncomfortable atmosphere as loud chart music blasted out to an almost empty pub. We won't be visiting again. There are a dozen better pubs in Hertford town just a mile away. The newly refurbished Ram for one, the Salsbury ams is always pleasant and we're quite fond of the white hart. Alternatively letty green's Cowper arms in the opposite direction is also nice with a good little bar, and they do good food. But I wouldn't bother with the prince of wales when there are much nicer pubs around why would you want to be made to feel uncomfortable on your afternoon off? My recommendation go somewhere else.

Date visited: 10/11/09 (Aprox)

Review by Spicey on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
"The Prince" has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment, and has a much brighter lighter airy atmosphere. the tasteful redecoration has made a very good pub even better. the home made pies are highly reccomended,and the real ales are well kept with a locally brewed option. the landlord and staff are very friendly and hospitable with an extensive local knowledge. a mixture of traditional open log fires combined with contemporary decor. and a convivial atmosphere make "The Prince better than its ever been.

Review by Jack on 27th December, 2008

Add your review
The Prince of Wales is now open and under new management. It is being redecorated by the new manager (Andrew). A very pleasant pub and deserves a visit. It is a free house so you can expect a decent choice of beer at reasonable prices.

Date visited: 23 Dec 2008

Review by Linda on 15th May, 2008

Add your review
A hand written sign in the window states that this pub is closed until further notice.

Date visited: 15 May 2008

Review by kelly on 16th February, 2006

Add your review
the price of wales in under new management and has brought back old custom aswel as new custom. there is a very plesant atmosphere and friendly staff. there is food being served daily and and good drink selection including real ales.

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
To me there has never been a higher source of earthly honor or distinction than that connected with advances in science - Isaac Newton
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Blore Heath - 1459, Chaplin Returns to England - 1952, 1st British woman News reader - 1955, BBC launches the world's first Ceefax teletext service. - 1974, Steve Redgrave wins 5th Olympic Gold Medal - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages