It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

May 2019: The North Cornwall Coast

For those who have decided for whatever reason green conscience, the dreaded credit crunch, or maybe simple curiosity to holiday in Britain this ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Jolly Brewers, Bishops Stortford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Johan on 29th September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Great pub adjacent to rooms. Clean room, friendly people in pub (rooms run by pub). Reasonably close to Stansted Airport (train around 4 GBP, taxi 16 GBP). Bad Points: Hate entry codes on door; no breakfast (but publican pointed out an adequate breakfast cafe down the road). General review: Fine, might take this place another time when changing planes at Stansted Aipt.

Date visited: 2009-09-29

Review by Johan on 29th September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Great pub adjacent to rooms. Clean room, friendly people in pub (rooms run by pub). Reasonably close to Stansted Airport (train around 4 GBP, taxi 16 GBP). Bad Points: Hate entry codes on door; no breakfast (but publican pointed out an adequate breakfast cafe down the road). General review: Fine, might take this place another time when changing planes at Stansted Aipt.

Date visited: 2009-09-29

Review by Anonymous on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: It is situated near to the town center and therefore ideal for shops and resturants. It has off road parking and is a short drive by car to Stansted airport.

Date visited: 2008-08-14

Review by j Greaves on 3rd January, 2008

Add your review
A really good place to stay! and the best cask ales for miles around (CAMRA herts essex boarders silver medal 2007) See Camra Beer Guide and Bed &Breakfast Guide There are normally around 30 malt whiskies too. To contact them e mail enquiries.jolltbrewers@yahoo.co.uk The hotel accommodation at the family run Jolly Brewers Freehouse Inn, is spendid and is just outside Bishops Stortford town centre and is within easy walking distance of the train station, shops, leisure centre, river, and the town's night life, whilst being in a much quieter location. It is within 10min drive of Stansted Aiport but is not bothered by the flight path. The hotel part is in a separate building adjoining the pub and was built in 2007 to a very high modern standard with accommodation providing twin/ double bed rooms with wc, wash hand basin, and shower en suite, or with large en suite bathroom. Each room is furnished with a wardrobe, desk, and bedside cabinets and has: T.V. Tea/coffee making Internet access You can park your car immediately outside your room, and can come and go whenever you please. Smoking is allowed under the porch right outside your room. Late or early arrivals and departures are easily arranged.

Date visited: 15.12.2007

Review by Tanith Warwick on 26th June, 2007

Add your review
Best little pub i have ever visited. Always afraid that locals may be unaccepting of people but this one makes you feel like you have just visisted an old friend. The lady behind the bar, Jackie is the best ladylady in the world and the atmosphere is electric. Go to this place if you want fun, and a relaxed pint, of which there is an expansive selection, and be happy being yourself. Would recommend to anyone, any age welcome!

Date visited: 24th June 2006

Review by Ben Giddings on 26th June, 2007

Add your review
It is a pub that i go to regularly and the people behind the bar make it that ultimate beer experience!

Date visited: April 2007

Review by Alex Watson on 26th June, 2007

Add your review
Best hidden secret ever! Recently moved in a few doors down from this pub and was a little apprehensive about trying out the new 'local' but thought come on Alex give it a go! To my surprise I was greeted with a smile and a lovely landlady and great selection of beers. I was expecting everyone in the pub to turn around and exclaim 'who is this man i have never seen him before, lets bundle him' but I had nothing of the kind. I felt comfortable all evening and to be honest eying up Jackie (the landlady) kept me happy all night. Go here for both a chilled out pint or a laugh. No one will judge you, I should know, my girlfriend was naked danicing the tables and no one even blinked an eyelid, in fact they offered me a free drink. Bingo!

Date visited: June 2007

Review by Josie on 6th April, 2007

Add your review
Very friendly, relaxing pub! Not far from the station or the town centre. Real ales available with a guest ale which appears to change regularly (it's not the first time we've been there!). Varies as to how busy it gets in the evenings. One side has pool, darts, sports TV; the other side has some seating; there are seats outside the back too. Food is served from menu and small specials board- more a lunchtime thing.

Date visited: 05-Apr-2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I desire no future that will break the ties with the past. - George Eliot
More Quotes

On this day:
Captain Kidd Hanged for Piracy - 1701, Whipsnade Zoo Opened - 1931
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages