Cisswood

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Cisswood House, Horsham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 4th December, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Welcoming staff Log Fire Delicious food General review: Would come again

Date visited: 2009-12-04

Review by Anonymous on 6th September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Overall it was a very pleasing experience and I enjoyed the meal in teh restaurant. General review: Very good

Date visited: 2009-09-06

Review by Lucy on 11th December, 2008

Add your review
When we arrived the staff were very nice and helpful, Then we went to are room it was freezing cold so i decided to take a bath only to find out that the water was luke warm so i had to boil kettles to have a hot bath. The evening meal was delicous so after the meal i was happy untill the next day went out of the hotel to horsham check my account and £50 had been taken so i went back to the hotel very angry that i had'nt been told that this was gonna be taken out of my account and also to complain about all my other problems, they ofered to upgrade my room but by then i just wanted to go, so all in all it was not a very plesent stay!!!!

Date visited: nov 08

Review by Anonymous on 31st October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Room was spotless and very comfortable. Well furnished and equipped. Good choice of tea/coffee, etc. Excellent TV. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds were lovely. Bad Points: Shower - rather than bath - and it was very small with a fixed showerhead which did not allow easy use. Water pressure a bit low. Also, pipework boxed in on one wall gave off large amount of heat, which meant all our windows needed to stay open all night in late October. Radiator was turned off. Restaurant service very good but disappointingly no a la carte menu just a very limited table d'hote. Food good but rather overpriced. We eat out 3/4 times a week so we had lots to compare with. However, none of the above were important enough to spoil our stay. General review: Room was spotless and very comfortable. Well furnished and equipped. Good choice of tea/coffee, etc. Excellent TV. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds were lovely. Would like to have known that there was no bath, just a small shower. And that the restaurant only provided a limited range of dishes - we wanted to treat ourselves and felt rather let down!

Date visited: 2007-10-31

Review by Louise Paddick on 22nd October, 2007

Add your review
Our room was lovely and the hotel has gorgeous gardens. We also had the most delicious burger for lunch on Saturday afternoon. Our only bad feedback is that the staff tended to be quite unhelpful. The receptionist literally rolled her eyes at me when I asked if there was somewhere I could leave my suitcase, having arrived earlier than the 2pm check-in time because I had a massage booked in the salon. Since the whole weekend was a birthday surprise which had been booked for me, her attitude did spoil what should have been a really special day. The front of house staff definitely need some training in customer service.

Date visited: 20 October 2007

Review by jenny and den on 21st October, 2007

Add your review
on arrival there was no key for the room, given a master key that prob would have got us into others rooms, so their security is rubbish! as soon as entered room at approx 5pm it was freezing, bearing in mind its middle of october with frosts, i left room after turning heaters on full blast to return later to a warm relaxing room.... (though one of the lights was flickering nonstop )came back and after opening bed, found it was 2 singles zipped together!(this was supposed to be a double room)... after an uncomfortable nite of hearingf thuds , door bangings, finally drifted off........had put my card out for full brekkie 9am to arrive at room... got to 9.40 and had to call down to reception as still waiting for it... no appologies eventually it came up around 10am, most of it cold, not the right drinks, no milk for the cereal no butter for the toast, and it looked like it was the last dregs as they were cleared up from breakfast time.... not impressed.. had to call again for the milk and butter to arrive in our room.. by the time i noriced there was no sugar i gave up and ended up having to drink my tea without .... got to reception to check out, and all they did was a feeble apology and took the brekkie delivery off my bill.... what a joke! couldnt complain as i really wanted to do as had a busy queue behind me and was embarrasing to do a massive complaint properly.... not impressed with the service we received.

Date visited: october 07

Review by Elaine Soden on 4th October, 2007

Add your review
The reception was under going re-paint when I arrived, so there was a very strong smell of paint throughout my stay. Reception staff helpful despite they were having a few problems with new computer system. My room, a little tied, and my overlooked the front of the hotel, with no double glazing, traffic was noticeable. Room service food was excellent, could not be faulted, would I stay again, yes but probably a room towards the back of the hotel. If you need to book at treatment in the spa, it would be wise to pre-book before your stay. On arrival at the hotel my telephone calls in the afternoon were never returned, and had to call in personally, to be told 'to busy'.

Date visited: 3rd October 2007

Review by May Insley on 24th August, 2007

Add your review
We booked this hotel to celebrate my Sister's Birthday. On arrrival there was no welcome and I was given the wrong Dinner Menu to look at for the evening meal (ours was the inclusive which was not displayed in Reception). We found the bar area relaxing the food good and a couple of the staff very friendly though not all unfortunately. My Sister was given a room which was extremely hot and there was a gurgling sound above all night. My husband and I were given a room from which you heard a loud vibrating noise from behind the headboard for the entire night. We managed to get a couple of hours sleep with the use of earplugs (not good in the event of a fire!). I complained just after 6am to a young man who seemed helpful and he kindly reported it to the Duty Manager when she arrived. After breakfast I spoke to the Duty Manager and asked her to come up and listen to the continuous noise. She was not surprised as she told us other guests had complained - so why the hell were we put in that room! She took £29 off the bill for the previous evening but unfortunately due to lack of sleep etc I forgot to mention there was a drinks bill for my Sister's room which should have been deducted as I was reponsible for the bill. However, we received £29 compensation for a night of virtually no sleep from a hotel which was well aware of the problem in that room. I imagine they will continue putting guests into that room to suffer and hope they will not complain because when you do, there is very little re-compense. I would never recommend or use this hotel ever again unless I received an apology, proper compensation and a good reason why guests are expected to pay for a room with a major problem!!!

Date visited: 18/8/2007

Review by Leah Ray on 17th July, 2007

Add your review
Booked the hotel for a double wedding and could not fault the staff at all. Everybody was extremley friendly and helpful and they let us go around and choose all the rooms for friends and family. The gardens were lovely to have the photographs taken in and nosie level was not a problem. All in all it was a fantastic experience and everyone enjoyed themselves and I would recommend the hotel to anyone, am hoping to be able to book for my anniversary

Date visited: 2/09/06-04/09/06

Review by Judy Stokes on 21st September, 2006

Add your review
We made a booking with the wedding coordinator to view the hotel when we were looking for a venue for our wedding reception. We both took time off from work to make the suggested appointment only to be told when we got there that she was not available because it was her day off. Somebody was found to show us around and she was very helpful. The garden was very pleasant if a bit noisy due to traffic but the reception and the room we would use were very tired. We decided against using the hotel and were glad we did because we were thrilled with the place that we eventually chose.

Review by William Woods on 14th September, 2006

Add your review
Absolutely useless service. I requested 5 e mail requests for them to contact me with no replies I called them by phone 3 times with no success and eventually i got someone from the staff house who said someone would call me back. As of today i am still waiting the call DO NOT USE in my opinion

Date visited: 14/09/2006

Review by Anonymous on 29th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The Evening meal was excellent Bad Points: The room was generally a bit run down

Date visited: 2006-07-29

Review by Helen, Cheltenham on 15th March, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Very spacious and very light Bad Points: Bedrooms walls are very thin. Hotel reception/lobby very tired, and also bar! Also ran out of food for breakfast, with an hour left before the end! General Review: Very friendly hotel, only downside is they don't serve late snacks!

Date visited: 2006-03-15

Review by bev hannan on 30th August, 2005

Add your review
the hotel was lovely.very clean rooms and very friendly staff.the menu was a bit limited but the food we did have was excellent.the value for money was very good and i will certainly recomend the hotel to anyone that wants a romantic weekend away.

Date visited: 27/08/05 to 29/08/05

Review by Anonymous

Add your review
"Check in staff was brilliant; ensured we got a quiet room on arrival and upgraded us next day, when the first room had problems","Very good impression, mainly because of the politeness and attitude of the staff (especially check in). Hotel rooms are good but in need of some maintenance."

Date visited: 04/11/2004

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We are so fond on one another because our ailments are the same. - Jonathan Swift
More Quotes

On this day:
First Non-Stop Transatlantic Jet Flight - 1950, Launch of ITV - 1955, 10 Soldiers killed by IRA bomb attack in Deal - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages