National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2014: York and Its Surrounds

This April is a great time to be heading for York. The major attractions are all open, with luck the weather will continue to be ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Wheatsheaf, Hatfield Peverel

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lynda Woods on 30th July, 2012

Add your review
We decided to try the offer of 2 courses 2 people and a bottle of wine for 25 available on Wed and Thurs evenings. We had such a lovely meal and such good value, the food was superb and there was such a friendly atmosphere. we decided to try the Sunday roast for all our family(6 of us)on Sunday 29th July. Wow what can I say, choice of four fresh roast meats, homemade crispy roast potatoes, and homemade Yorkshire puddings.We then tried the most delicious desserts and everyone agreed that we had had a great meal. I would like to thank all the staff for their help which all added to the experience and we shall all be returning soon. lynda Woods and family Lynda W

Date visited: Wednesday 25th July

Review by Leonard tommes on 2nd May, 2012

Add your review
Hi all we had a table for 6 on sunday. we would like to thank all the staff for all the help my mother is in a wheelchiair. and the food was so good we have booked to back the 3rd sunday in every month We are booked to go back 4th May to enjoy the Chef`s specils the all to good not to try. We would like to thank Sandie and the staff again . please go and try it was the best sunday Roast i have had out for a long time , Leonard

Date visited: 29/4/2012

Review by Libby on 28th April, 2012

Add your review
What a brilliant little pub. This is the 3rd time for us so can't be a one off. Fantastic food, extremely good value and above all, such friendly service. It may not be "silver service" but the quality of the experience is five star. The only down side is that as word gets about it may be difficult to get in.

Date visited: 27th April 2012

Review by Paul hackett on 23rd April, 2012

Add your review
Hi all i booked a table for 10 of my family out for Mothers day.On arrivel sandie and welcomed every mum wit a free glass of wine and heart shaped chocolets the resterant was booked for the whole day with all local pepole. The food was excelent and serverd by frendly staff and has for decoration there are all new table anc chairs. also Mrs JAMES there were flowers and mothers day ballons all arouned the bar . everybody I talked to had a loverly day. i also called the owners after reading Mrs James comments. and ther name are not down on any of the booking forms. dear all the wheatsheaf is a loverly pub with very good food .

Date visited: 18th march

Review by John Tred on 23rd April, 2012

Add your review
I totally disagree with Mrs James, we had a family table of 12 booked which included 3 mums and a grandmum, they all received a free glass of wine and chocolates from the owners. We had a lovely meal and I found ALL the staff friendly and helpful.Len(not Ken) spent time chatting with us even though the restaurant was fully booked, as he did to other people there.The girls were lovely, in particular Charlie and Lisa(I think that was their names), very polite friendly and knowledgable about the menu. All of my family agree with me that we shall return not just for a special occasion but to try the specials board more frequently.

Date visited: 18th March 2012

Review by Mrs James on 21st March, 2012

Add your review
Well we had been prevoiously on this date and could not fault service,food & hospitality from Previous owners David & Debbie.WHAT A MESS UP THIS YEAR had they forgot it was Mothers Day? Food arived late,Staff unhelpful when approached even the table we sat at was broken.Ken i believe was his name behind bar LOUD RUDE & UNFUNNY is all i can say about him gone are Sue,Beth & a beautiful tall girl named Mel, the wonderful welcome, flowers for the mums that made it a special day and value for money,left are what we found there on that mothering sunday brash, rude,unprofesssional people WE WILL NOT BE BACK AGAIN.....

Date visited: Mothering sunday 2012

Review by Bill & Sheila Hughes on 27th November, 2011

Add your review
Visited the Wheatsheaf with a group of friends Friday and Saturday evening. Friday night was Fish Night, excellent. Again, Saturday was brilliant. The food was cooked to perfection and the atmosphere really good. Len and Sandie, the landlords made us feel very welcome and their staff couldn't do enough for us. This pub/restaurant is well worth a visit.

Date visited: 25 & 26 November 2011

Review by Gordie on 21st November, 2011

Add your review
Fabulous find. Great food, great service & great prices. Suggest booking for Sunday Lunch otherwise you may have a wait.

Date visited: 6th November 2011

Review by Gordie on 20th November, 2011

Add your review
Fabulous find. Great food, great service & great prices. Suggest booking for Sunday Lunch otherwise you may have a wait.

Date visited: 6th November 2011

Review by dean on 3rd September, 2011

Add your review
dinner in the wheatsheaf was very good, just good, honest, no nonsense food, Great value. will definitely go back. Hazel... learn to spell!!!

Date visited: 02/09/11

Review by hazel on 4th August, 2011

Add your review
DECIDED TO GIVE THE FOOD A TRY AS WE HAD NOT EATEN AT THE WHEATSHEAF FOR A VERY TIME SO WENT IN FOR A MEAL FOOD VERY GOOD WELL WORTH THE VISIT.ASKED IF THEY DID VEGERITARIAN MEALS TOLD YES THE CHIEF WOULD COOK ANT THING GREAT A GOOD CHOICE .SO ON THE SAT 30TH AUG I BOOKED A TABLE FOR 4 PEOPLE ASKED AGAIN ABOUT VEGITARIAN FOOD AND HAD THE SAME ANSWER YES WE HAD A CHOICE .WHEN WE ARRIVED FOR OUR MEAL WE WERE TOLD YES TOLD THE CHIEF WAS COOKING US PASTA. I THOUGHT WE WERE THE CUSTOMER AND SHOULD HAVE A CHOICE THE ONLY CHOICE WAS PLOUGHMANS THAT WAS A LAUGH MORE LIKE CHEESE SALAD THEN WE ASKED FOR WEDGE OF BREAD OR A ROLL ALL WE GOT WAS HALF COOKED ROLL .WHEN THE OTHER MEALS ARRIVED THE CHIPS TASTED REHEATED AND THE STANDARD OF THE MEAL WAS NOT A PATCH ON THE MEAL WE SO MUCH ENJOYED 2WEEKS PREVIOUS GREAT LET DOWN AND DISAPOINTMENT SO NONE OF US WILL GO AGAIN

Date visited: sat 30th aug 2011

Review by john on 22nd March, 2011

Add your review
Hi I am now a regular visitor to the Wheatsheaf since August last year when it had changed hands.I noticed that there was a lighter and more enjoyable atmosphere. After talking to the landlord and landlady about their plans for the pub, I have been back for several very enjoyable meals and have sampled many of the chef's Specials Board. Once a month on a Saturday evening they have entertainment with a buffet (chinese, indian, turkish and Italian)with various singers and bands, which is very popular and enjoyable for all ages.(I have never seen any adverts for Bingo in that time)but they have a quiz one Thursday a month.I had noticed one evening that they were advertising a charity evening for a young lad who had been killed in Maldon, which was a thoroughly enjoyable evening and well supported, raising 600 for the family and for anyone that says that it is dowdy and only for oap's that may have been true when the previous tenents had it but now the pub is having a major refurbishment. the last part of this refurbishment will be complete by the end of March. this will result in the long awaited removal of the famous chimney which will make the restaurant/ function room more welcoming and a lot brighter. i would like to thank all the regulars for making me feel welcome and letting me make the Wheatsheaf my local even though I do not live in the village. Thank you John

Date visited: 19/3/2011

Review by phyllis on 22nd March, 2011

Add your review
I visited the Wheatsheaf with 2 friends and had a lovely lunch, the food was well cooked and very fresh, the presentation was lovely and the desserts were to die for. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the very friendly atmosphere. there are quite a lot of events planned for the forthcoming bank holidays and I have booked my tickets for the St Georges day banquet as I thought that my husband would enjoy a good meal with friendly company. On Easter Sunday we will be taking our grandchildren to the Easter Egg Hunt in the field behind the pub and we will then have lunch. Sandie & Len carry on the good work Phyllis and Ted

Date visited: 18/3/11

Review by Ray on 18th March, 2011

Add your review
We are regular visitors to The Wheatsheaf, mainly on Sundays, where we thoroughly enjoy the well cooked food. The atmosphere is friendly and comfortable. Would certainly recommend.

Date visited: March 2011

Review by Pauline on 18th March, 2011

Add your review
We have been to this pub many times, and enjoy the friendly atmosphere and the food. Sunday Roasts are especially good. We travel from Barking, so obviously find the journey worthwhile. Len and Sandy are always pleasant and all staff are helpful. We have introduced several friends to The Wheatsheaf, all of who have enjoyed their visit.

Date visited: February 2011

Review by bill on 18th March, 2011

Add your review
went to the wheatsheaf not really knowing what to expect after reading the reviews, and my opinion is that the food is ok for the price which is the same as cafe prices (you get wot u pay for)It says in the review that the landlady and landlord are friendly which is misleading as the landlady goes to work else where during the day! Its a warm pub but its dark and drab and dare i say it geared more to oaps (nothing wrong with that as im one myself but the entertaintment is bingo and quiz nite, i will give it another visit so i can make my mind up whether it is worth telling my friends about it.....

Date visited: feb 16th 2011

Review by glen and family on 10th March, 2011

Add your review
having read the negative and insulting comments made recently i have to say that myself and my family strongly disagree. we visited the pub and were made to feel very welcome and the food made by the new chef was outstanding. we will be visiting on a regular basis from now on. thank you to you all.

Date visited: feb 2011

Review by Sharon & bill on 8th March, 2011

Add your review
I have been eating at the Wheatsheaf with my wife since September last year. We visit usually at least once a week and have always thoroughly enjoyed our meals. we have always found the Landlord Len and Landlady Sandie always very friendly and ready to help in any way. I have found the comments below to be wrong and felt that I had to let people know our opinion. The food is really enjoyable, always offering something new, fresh and very good value

Date visited: 5 dec 2010

Review by Grace Reynolds on 8th March, 2011

Add your review
To all at The Wheatsheaf, Hatfield Peverel Thank you for being so welcoming and helpful to us on Sunday. We all hugely enjoyed the food and you were so helpful and understanding to us with our filming. Apologies for being late and getting lost! I would certainly come back if we ever needed to film in a pub again or just to have another lovely meal. With thanks, Grace Reynolds Producer/Director TwoFour Broadcast *****

Date visited: 1 Dec 2010

Review by lynsey on 4th February, 2011

Add your review
After reading the reviews we went for Sunday lunch, it was ok nothing special, the landlady had a face like thunder obviously some-one had upset her!

Date visited: 31st January 2011

Review by tracey on 28th November, 2010

Add your review
stopped at wheatsheaf pub for sum lunch walked into the bar to order a drink and food and was greeted by a loveley young lady called sue, she told us to go and make ourselves comfortable and she would come and take our order,not only did she do just that she helped us decide wot we wanted, food was ok nothing special but the service was, which made us want to go back which we did but to our dismay sue no longer works there and its not the same without her so we wont be going back...

Date visited: 10th nov 2010

Review by maggie on 9th November, 2010

Add your review
went to the wheatsheaf with a group of my girlfriends, we had the warmest welcome you could ask for, sue the barmaid was so helpful nothing was to much trouble and she done everything with a smile, food was good but more importantly we was made to feel at home so a big thamks to sue for making our visit so nice

Date visited: 4th nov 2010

Review by sandie on 5th November, 2010

Add your review
After reading the reviews we thought that we would visit the Wheatsheaf as it has changed hands, very disappointed, Len the landlord & his wife Sandie were unfriendly perhaps it was a "off night", food was not that good either will not be visiting again soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 3rd november 2010

Review by sue costello on 17th October, 2010

Add your review
We visited here on a saturday night with trepidation having visited there a good few years ago. It is now sparkling clean and smells fresh and first impressions were very good. The landlord Les and his waitress Charlie are a delight, friendly without being over intrusive. The eating area is clean and bright and the menu is clear and concise. I ordered ham egg and chips and hubby had the gammon. The food arrived within ten minutes and I can honestly say it was the hottest food I have ever been served in any pub/restaurant. The thick chips were home made not frozen and were fantastic. I hade 6 half slices of hand carved gammon on my plate!! The eggs were cooked perfectly with runny yolks. My hubbys gammon was equally perfect. He then ordered chocolate fudge cheesecake with ice cream and the portion was huge and again home made. The specials menu offered different pies, including game which is sourced locally. We cannot wait to go again and will be trying the sunday lunch asap. The food service and decor is top notch so please give it try now that it is under new management, you will not be disappionted.

Date visited: 15th October 2010

Review by anon on 15th September, 2010

Add your review
The pub has changed hands again, along with the decor which is now bright & airy, with complementry lines in the furnishings around the bars. My daughter & I finally got to visit this local today & test some of it's menu. We were really impressed with what we ordered, just the right time to wait, the right portions of everything, although I prefer just iceberg lettuce, cucumber, tomato,etc. to the fancy frilly lettuces. It left enough room for me to enjoy the lemon drizzle cake & cream for desert, Watch out owners we will be back.

Date visited: 15th Sept 2010

Review by Anon on 26th May, 2009

Add your review
Looking at the recent reviews, it's worth pointing out that there was a change of landlords in 2007. The pub has been thoroughly cleaned and redecorated, the "aviary" has been demolished and a pleasant outside seating area created. The large field to the rear of the pub is still used for caravans, but now both numbers and duration of stay comply to the legal requirements. Quiet live music is available every few weeks, instead of the deafening discos that used to be held in a tent. The food is properly home-cooked, the portions are generous, and the welcome is friendly. The only criticism we have heard is that sometimes the service is a little slow. On the whole, though, what a change for the better!

Date visited: March 2009

Review by Mark on 28th October, 2007

Add your review
I went there a few weeks ago and it was the best time i have had in a pub the staff and locals where all very friendly. The food there looked delicious even although I didn't eat i will be going back and trying and have heard good things about it. I want to also thank them for trying to save me from drinking to much it didn't work but they tried. Go there and try the place ***** stars

Review by Mr G Overland on 27th October, 2007

Add your review
The Wheatsheaf has had a change of management and a bit of a makeover, new and freindley staff now work at the bar the noisy and dirty bird avery has now gone completely and the deck area is now plesent serounded by flowers, the pub food was a treat and not expensive.

Date visited: 22/10/2007

Review by Mrs J Palfreman on 23rd April, 2007

Add your review
I visited the pub for the first time with 2 work colleagues for a lunchtime drink and snack. Although the female barperson was not behind the bar when we arrived, she was aware of our presence but we were not acknowledged. After a short wait she returned to the bar and without a smile, greeting or eye contact, asked what she could get for us. We ordered our drinks and food and seated ourselves in the 'garden area'. This was a tatty decked area with a noisy bird aviary, overlooking the caravan site. The food was served after a short wait by the same assistant without a smile or the offer of any condiments. The food was basic and edible. We drank and ate as quickly as possible and left, never to return.

Date visited: 20th April 2006

Review by Sammy Rayner on 8th June, 2006

Add your review
What a Pub.We had a holiday in Essex and came across the Wheatsheaf run by a lovely lady called Maria.We were made very welcome and a great time with her regulars and had a great sing song witha guy called Terry.The food was out of this world and cannot wait to visit again. We would recommend this pub to anyone in the Essex area or beyond...its worth the visit!! Sammy+Joyce,Bavaria,Germany.

Date visited: May,2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The delicate balance between modesty and conceit is popularity. - Max Beerbohm
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages