Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Orestone

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Orestone Manor Hotel, Torquay

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Elizabeth Jones on 4th September, 2007

Add your review
A Touch of Relaxation: The Orestone Manor definitely lived up to expectations when I dined for lunch last week; with the beautiful and peaceful surroundings, accompanied by mouth-watering food served with a smile. I enjoyed a classic Beer Battered local Fish, served with chunky chips, whilst drinking a refreshing White Wine Spritzer, followed by a selection of homemade ice creams. My friend opted for the healthy yet appetising Salad of Smoked Chicken, Pancetta and soft boiled egg and finished it with the Hot Plum Pudding, blossom honey and lavender syrup. We were both reassured by the flexibility of the restaurant, allowing for the more relaxed diners to the formal shirt and tie occasions. There were people both on the terrace enjoying the fresh air as well as those choosing to sit in the recently refurbished restaurant. I would certainly be confident travelling to the Orestone Manor for all types of dining; and with my parentsí Wedding Anniversary around the corner I think a reservation is inevitable. It is only a short distance from both Torquay and Exeter, so there are no excuses to miss out on the experience.

Date visited: 01.09.07

Review by dr jon brant on 25th September, 2006

Add your review
There is generally a very nice ambience about the hotel. We had the smallest room in the attic and it was still nice. The lady of the house did NOT have the knack of making us feel at ease and in fact made us feel uncomfortable at times- I am not sure whether this was because she is new to the business. The restaurant and service was excellent- personal without being intrusive- BUT,I think the chef had his night off when we ate- I had the sea bass and was amazed how anyone could make such a beautiful dish so tasteless- it was also watery and was served with an obviously reheated tomato based thick sauce- I catch and cook sea bass and know how easy it is to cook decent seabass well. I suspect that it was frozen- not michelin star material at all! Breakfast was the best I had ever been served! Generally very good. Would not go again for the reasons above.

Date visited: 15-16/9/06

Review by rose verdum on 10th October, 2005

Add your review
Arriving at Orestone Manor was the highlight of our holidays. As you cross the front door you feel as you are arriving at home, a hint of the colonial, extremelly relaxing environment and never a touch of casuality. Tthe Service nad attention to detail was impecable and you even get a weather forecast on your pillow at night time. We definitelly lived paradise. Can't wait to go back.

Date visited: 25.09.05

Review by Anonymous

Add your review
Excellent restaurant. Charming rooms. Excellent staff.

Date visited: 29/09/2004

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I find Cambridge an asylum, in every sense of the word. - A E Housman
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Agincourt - 1415, Charge of the Light Brigade - 1854, Anglesey Ship Disaster - 1859, Queen Opens National Theatre - 1976
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages