It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Sun Inn, Whitchurch Hill

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Darren Hackett on 6th September, 2010

Add your review
My wife and I moved to Whitchurch Hill at the end of January 2010. Prior to moving into the area we came across the Sun Inn. The place was quite empty as it was a mid afternoon however we met one of the Landlady's (Ros) who also runs the place alongside her mother Christine (Ma as she likes to be called). The food is always excellent, good honest home made food using fresh locally sourced produce. The prices are also honest for the food, reasonable but always served in a quality, timely well presented fashion. Our wedding anniversary was in May and we did not have anything planned this year unfortunately however we spoke to Chris (Ma) and she ordered some steaks in especially for the meal and also put our Cuban CD on as well, anyway this turned into a great night with everybody feeling that Carribean touch for the evening. The beer is well kept and we have never had any issues and the Sun Inn provided us with the final piece of the jigsaw that made us decide to move to the area. Great locals who are always friendly, good food, clean environment, well kept Ale (and cider of course as I am a Strongbow man and my wife likes real ale), big garden which is great in the summer, excellent meat raffle on a Saturday night, all in all a great pub. It is a given for anybody to try it out if they have not visited before and are in the area.

Date visited: Ongoing

Review by Darren Hackett on 6th September, 2010

Add your review
My wife and I moved to Whitchurch Hill at the end of January 2010. Prior to moving into the area we came across the Sun Inn. The place was quite empty as it was a mid afternoon however we met one of the Landlady's (Ros) who also runs the place alongside her mother Christine (Ma as she likes to be called). The food is always excellent, good honest home made food using fresh locally sourced produce. The prices are also honest for the food, reasonable but always served in a quality, timely well presented fashion. Our wedding anniversary was in May and we did not have anything planned this year unfortunately however we spoke to Chris (Ma) and she ordered some steaks in especially for the meal and also put our Cuban CD on as well, anyway this turned into a great night with everybody feeling that Carribean touch for the evening. The beer is well kept and we have never had any issues and the Sun Inn provided us with the final piece of the jigsaw that made us decide to move to the area. Great locals who are always friendly, good food, clean environment, well kept Ale (and cider of course as I am a Strongbow man and my wife likes real ale), big garden which is great in the summer, excellent meat raffle on a Saturday night, all in all a great pub. It is a given for anybody to try it out if they have not visited before and are in the area.

Date visited: Ongoing

Review by rachel sessions on 27th November, 2009

Add your review
we visited the sun inn on easter sunday as we had heard by word of mouth what a lovely day the pub puts on on easter sunday for the children. the huge garden had lots of toys and garden equipment for the children to play on and an easter egg hunt and face painting had also been laid on by the landlady's, all free of charge!!! the children had great fun running around and enjoying themselves whilst my husband and i enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine, in peace!! we were made very very welcome and ALL four of us had a great afternoon and took away a free egg. Food was also being serves which looked fantastic, shame we had eaten before we came out. will definitely visit again.

Date visited: April 2009

Review by Rose on 11th November, 2009

Add your review
My family and i attended the annual firework display which is organised by the sun inn. luckily the evening was dry and was filled with lots of fireworks, a huge bonfire, a bbq and outside bar and a kids stall selling glow sticks, sweets and drinks. all the goods were reasonably priced and everyone had a fabulous evening. Yet another fab display put on by the pub to entertain the locals and not so locals!!! Great event with a fab atmosphere, will definitely see you next year.

Date visited: 7/11/2008

Review by Emma Brennan on 10th November, 2009

Add your review
We found this pub on the outskirts of whitchurch, near pangbourne. We decided to go through recommendations and decided that we would try out the food there. Both me and my boyfriend chose homemade option and thought that the food was excellent! Nice good portions, piping hot and delicious. Not only that the service can not be complained about as they were very quick with the food service, happy and very willing for a conversation if wanted. I had recently read a review about this pub as being 'dirty' but from our view we thought that the pub was clean and nicely kept. Definately go in for a sunday lunch again.

Date visited: 06.10.2009

Review by Diane lotherington on 13th July, 2008

Add your review
We ordered a drink and tried to find a table that was not covered with bits of food from the previous occupier. A table near us had people sitting at it, was full with dirty glasses, food plates and dessert dishes. A member of staff approached the table and said let me clear some of these things, removed 2 glasses and disappaered behind the bar again. As we looked round, the place was grubby, food over the carpet, and not just from that day, light switches and sockets thick was grim paint work dirty. After 15 minutes we left,leaving our unfinsherd drinks on the table. Hoping they may get the message. Never again oxfordshire

Date visited: 12/07/08

Review by Ros Davies on 29th August, 2006

Add your review
We were out for a drive and found this lovely little country pub by chance. It is on the edge of the village of Whitchurch Hill. Lunch was lovely, good value for money, I had homemade fish pie and my husband had homemade Pork in Cider. Nice freshly cooked vegetables. It is a family run pub, very friendly and comfortable. They have an extensive menu with lots of choice to suit all pockets. It is a Brakspears pub, husband said "very good pint". Nice garden with toys to occupy the children. Set in beautiful countryside will definitely be visiting again.

Date visited: 17/08/06

Review by John Tuohy on 10th July, 2006

Add your review
Lovely pub. Beautiful setting. Brakspears Bitter 2.60. Range of other beers, including Stella Artois, 3.10. Currently run by Lesley and Chubbs. Food served 12 noon till 3pm, and most evenings 6.30pm till 9pm, except Sunday and Wednesday. Big Garden.Childrens play area. Car Park. Accesible by public transport, 142 bus from Pangbourne or Reading. Very reasonalby priced food. Excellent baguettes 3.10. Main meals from about 4.50 upwards. Sunday Lunch 6.95.

Date visited: 10th July

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Now is the age of anxiety. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages