It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Slaters Arms,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by A Scattle on 15th March, 2012

Add your review
Wow, what an improvement. We went to this pub a couple of years ago, and it was . how can i say it? CRAP, but we kept hearing that it had changed hands again, so we thought we would give it a try. Its 110% better than it ever was. The food & service from the young girls was outstanding. Definitely one of the best eating place`s in Bedford.

Date visited: 20/01/2012

Review by D Swales on 11th December, 2010

Add your review
This lovely little family pub has just been taken over by new tenants and has improved enormosly, The food is all cooked from fresh and was presented fantastically. The staff are all friendly and helpfull and couldnt do enough for us and we will not hesitate to return to it again, We are actually going back this Sunday to have the carvery which is all home cooked even the potatoes and yorkshires !

Date visited: 10/12/2010

Review by Mike Elmermike. on 26th September, 2010

Add your review
Our family had the very unfortunate trauma of Sunday lunch at this poor establishment today. The staff are abysmal, rude, and without any experience in service. From earwigs walking over the serving plates of the "carvery", to the vegetables being all but dry remnants of what they once were, dirty, greasy glasses on the table, and a manager who's mother tries to keep him from being in contact with the public ay all costs....even lying that he is not on the premesis, even when he was standing behind her. The reason why became apparent. I felt I had a right to complain about the waitress spilling cutlery and food remnants over me on collection from the table, the cleanliness of the servery the attitude of the serving staff...only to be told that if I didn't like it to just pay the f***ing bill and p**s off. This "owner/manager" stank of alcohol was very confrontational out of control. Please avoid this awful place if you care for your safeyty and health. The behaviour has been reported to the police, and a letter of complaint, along with photos is ready to be sent to environmental health ASAP.

Date visited: 26th September 2010

Review by Hewitt on 18th November, 2009

Add your review
We went there for Sunday lunch, and were most disappointed. The beef and other meats were good, but the vegetables were practically inedible.They were not cooked, I think they must have been dipped in boiling water and removed immediately. The potatoes were deep fried, not roasted, and the yorkshires were burnt on top and greasy underneath. Our table was in the main corridor to the carvery which meant that there was always someone passing by, not conducive to a relaxing meal. All in all a great disappointment and we will not be visiting there again.

Date visited: 8th November 2009

Review by Dr SL Burridge on 31st May, 2009

Add your review
The Slaters goes back to my childhood but we moved away a long time ago. Visited today as the aged mother still lives not so far away. It`s changed a bit and the food took some time to arrive but we were never left wondering and water on a hot day was always provided. The food was excellent-cooked with care-and thought.And good value Can`t comment on the alcohol-I`m a few years older than the days when we drank and drove

Date visited: 31/5/2009

Review by sally on 11th October, 2007

Add your review
Excellent food and service.The landlord and landlady are very friendly and go out of their way to come and talk to you, which is nice. Have not been since the previous landlord, some great changes, with a very welcoming atmosphere. Is a must to visit now !!!

Date visited: 10/10/07

Review by sally on 11th October, 2007

Add your review
Excellent food and service.The landlord and landlady are very friendly and go out of their way to come and talk to you, which is nice. Have not been since the previous landlord, some great changes, with a very welcoming atmosphere. Is a must to visit now !!!

Date visited: 10/10/07

Review by KBrown on 10th October, 2007

Add your review
What a friendly, relaxed atmosphere this pub provides. The food was really good, with excellent service, and the staff are so friendly. I would definitely recommend a visit. What a difference they have made to the previous tenanats.

Date visited: 5/10/07

Review by RChayya on 10th October, 2007

Add your review
A buzzing atmosphere,great food, excellent service, really friendly staff. Live band performing who were also good,place was packed.

Date visited: 29/9/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Who's ever going to write a film in which I get the girl? Me! - John Cleese
More Quotes

On this day:
Worlds Oldest Football Club Founded - 1857, Wall Street Crash - 1929, Formation of UN - 1945, Last Commercial Concorde Flight - 2003
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles