Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Abingdon

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel, Abingdon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 20th November, 2009

Add your review
Bad Points: Staff in Dining room not very well trained General review: I would stay again

Date visited: 2009-11-20

Review by Mike Gibson on 7th December, 2007

Add your review
Only an adequate hotel for the price. Nice view, close to river, easy walk to city. Nice fitness facility. Tub was cracked. No minibar. No concierge and people at desk unable to answer even the simplest questions (e.g. recommended restaurants were chains). VERY noisy. Seemed more concerned with the parties they had booked than with the guests who were sleeping there. I expect more for this kind of money (I was promised breakfast included but it was not).

Date visited: 30 Nov to 1 Dec, 2007

Review by ? on 20th July, 2006

Add your review
I recently stayed here as part of a corporate group. Although the staff are friendly, its very difficult to communicate when over 60% are from different countries and have trouble both speaking & understanding the English language! Whilst there, we (myself & the rest of the group) encountered many problems with the service, from numerous mistakes at mealtimes to failure to provide fans in rooms during high tempuratures of 30+. I really do hope that I won't have to do more training here again as I simply couldn't bear the thought of having to stay here again!

Date visited: recent

Review by Derek, Stafford on 24th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Clean and adequate for my requirements. Bad Points: Hunting for switches to bedside lamps. Traffic noise through single glased windows. Restaraunt poor value and uninformative waiters. General Review: I found this hotel to be poor value for money. It claims to be three star but is no better than any Travel Inn and is a lot more expensive. The restaraunt is also poor value charging three star prices and serving small and uninspiring meals. I was particularily annoyed when I asked what certain potatoes were the waiter didn't know - they were fried - so I ordered new potatoes to accompany my meal and the waiter didn't tell me they were already included in the meal!Don't think I'll stay here again.

Date visited: 2006-04-24

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Thank goodness I was never sent to school; it would have rubbed off some of the originality. - Beatrix Potter
More Quotes

On this day:
First Post Office Pillar Box - 1852, Manchester Martyrs Hanged - 1867, Launch of the Cutty Sark - 1869, Far from the Madding Crowd Published - 1874, First Royal Command Performance - 1897, Crippen hanged - 1910, First Episode of Doctor Who - 1963, Oxford Circus Tube Fire - 1984
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages