National Trust
Durrant

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Durrant House Hotel, Bideford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs. C. Channell on 8th April, 2011

Add your review
I tried to book myself in, as I was used to do, and encouraged to come as a regular visitor to Bideford, in my own room no. 222, but tried to book up, on the 11th January, for Saturday 9th April for 10 days/2 weeks and was unable to. I was told they had 4 coaches coming in and I can not have my own room as there was somebody in there. Since the Russian girl, Alice, left the attitude in not business-like. So I am sleeping on my sister's couch for 4 nights. I am so disappointed. I always look so forward to going there. Perhaps they will book me in for next Christmas.

Date visited: 4th-11th January 2011

Review by Anonymous on 21st November, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: all very good Bad Points: nil at this hotel General review: very nice hotel and all staff were very helpful

Date visited: 2009-11-21

Review by Anonymous on 15th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Room and breakfast were excellent. The room was very clean and tidy. It all looked very new. Bad Points: 1 thing, lack of mirror in the bedroom, found it hard to dry my hair.

Date visited: 2008-08-15

Review by Anonymous on 23rd May, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Rooms were modern, clean and internet access worked well despite being in the middle of an upgrade. So full marks for still being able to offer this service during the transition Bad Points: There was no remote control for the television. General review: Staff were friendly, helpful and accomodating. It would have been nice to be sent directions or a map of the location as a link during the booking procedure.

Date visited: 2008-05-23

Review by Kyran MacMurrough on 17th December, 2007

Add your review
As a frequent traveller, I stay at many hotels around the country and I always look at reviews of hotels before I stay in them just to make sure I don't walk into anything bad. However I feel that I have to make a note about this hotel and the preceeding comment to mine - Why would somebody write a review of a hotel (and a bad review at that) nearly 2 years AFTER they had actually stayed? Yes, you may have had a bad stay but is there any point in harping on about it 2 years later? Personally I found the hotel to be warm and inviting, staff friendly and although some of the staff were foreign nationals, they spoke very good english (and coped with my 'strange' northern accent quite well). The hotel is apparently nearing the end of its refurbishment and I did see some things that proved this (workman walking around etc) but this did not stop me from enjoying the food in the restaurant or my stay in the room. At £50 bed and breakfast it was very good value for money and should I be in the area I would not hesitate to stay there again or even recommend it to others. 4.5 out of 5

Date visited: 10/12/07

Review by Anonymous on 30th July, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: clean, pleasent sroundings. Bad Points: would have liked duvets instead of blankets. General review: quiet location, good overall service but was slightly neglected when coach parties arrived, i.e resturant opening times and quility of food service.

Date visited: 2007-07-30

Review by P Heavey on 1st May, 2007

Add your review
Wrote letter of complaint to owner detailing the numerous problems encountered. I have received no acknowledement nor reply. The Letter summarised complaints from our large group of wedding guests. No hot water; no water; overcharging; errors in charging; poor housekeeping; off-hand and discourteous manner of hotel staff. At one stage 12 guests at reception expressing dissatisfaction demanding action and contact with Duty Manager. Contact refused: Manager, via Receptionist, refused to leave a Sunday meeting and attend. Inter-rom telephone system disabled. Often such disappointments are felt to be individual and ‘just my luck'; but later at lunch it was sad to witness so many people expressing their frustrations. Clearly ‘luck’ did not come into it. On 1 Aug I spoke to the General Manager. There was no acknowledgement of the above problems and I felt the Manager's manner discourteous and unprofessional. As I believed that to deal with these complaints was beyond the Manager's ability I wrote to the Owner of the Durrant House Hotel. Unless there has been marked improvements I would not recommend this hotel.

Date visited: 30-31 Jul 2005

Review by lorraine filmer on 10th September, 2006

Add your review
we had a lovely weeks stay in a family room with our 2 grandchildren plenty of room the staff were very helpful and we thought breakfast was wonderfully fresh and hot and I am hard to please where food is concerned. The restaurant food I thought could be more varied in the evenings but we would definitely visit again and recommend it to friends and family.

Date visited: 19-08-2006

Review by Anonymous on 27th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: the room was light and pleasent Bad Points: no overhead shower or air conditioning. General Review: we returned to our room on Saturday tea time to find the beds had not been made, not good. also the night porter appeared not to speak any english or even to speak at all.

Date visited: 2006-07-27

Review by David Davidson on 28th November, 2005

Add your review
Disappointing. Couldn't check in before 2 pm even though we arrived at midday. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable but 2 lights didn't work and cupboard doors were about to fall off. TV reception was poor. I don't normally complain but it was the breakfast the following morning that prompted me to write. It was very poor.

Date visited: 26/11/2005

Review by Elaine

Add your review
"Large, well furnished room, good breakfast, extremely helpful staff keen to remedy any problems.","Beautiful hotel, very comfortable, plenty of parking. Staff extremely helpful with solution when restaurant was full on second night due to influx of coach parties."

Date visited: 03/12/2004

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Blessed is he who expects nothing, for he shall never be disappointed. - Jonathan Swift
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Blore Heath - 1459, Chaplin Returns to England - 1952, 1st British woman News reader - 1955, BBC launches the world's first Ceefax teletext service. - 1974, Steve Redgrave wins 5th Olympic Gold Medal - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages