It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Finchs Arms, Hambleton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by damant on 25th July, 2010

Add your review
Have been recommended the Finchs Arms by a work colleague, we were keen to visit. Whilst the village location is idyllic, the pub itself was a massive disappointment!Scruffy and dirty, uncleared tables in the bar, paper towels everywhere in the toliets, water all over the kitchen floor entrance and a delivery of wine (still in boxes) dumped in one of the seating areas. To top everything, when we asked for a menu we were told that we could not eat until 18.00pm, sandwiches on the menu could not be offered as they had run out of bread-this was 16.00pm on a very warm day, when a lot of people like us were out-and-about. Didn't bother to stay.

Date visited: 24/07/2010

Review by Robert Moore on 19th May, 2009

Add your review
We had quite a fabulous time at this little Gem of a place. They seem to have had a busy time updating the property but it retains all that you would hope to find in a great pub that offers quite superb food. The Pub is located on a peninsular of land jutting into Rutland Water (trout fishing) which affords great views from the Restaurant and Our bedroom but even better is the outside dining terrace. Our bedroom was first class. We were one of the first guests to use it and what a pleasure this was. I believe they will remain a pleasure for a very long time. They are very modern and clean and shiney! The bed was more comfortable than anything I have every slept in. The feature wall of the room was hand painted by a specialist we were told and the bathroom was better than the two back home! Food very special. They have a great formula, long may it last!

Date visited: 2nd May 2009

Review by John on 31st December, 2008

Add your review
We stayed here for a night with out 9 month old daughter (DB&B) and were not impressed for the following reasons: 1) The rooms were not clean and are in serious need of redecoration; 2) Beds were uncomfortable and old; 3) We had no hot water in our first room and eventually were switched to another; 4) There were no tea/coffee making facilities, so we couldn't boil water for baby milk, despite asking before hand if they were baby friendly rooms. 5) We were woken up at 8am by a fire alarm and nobody appologised for this; 6) Breakfast was appalling - slow service considering only two tables were being served and eggs had eggshell in etc; All-in-all I would not recommend staying here to anyone. Dinner in the evening was just about worth it, but our experience was tainted by the other problems. John

Date visited: 21/12/2008

Review by peter fossey on 24th September, 2008

Add your review
Having already previously eaten here, I booked a double room with a balcony overlooking the water, I also booked a table for the evening, it was our 30th wedding anniversary, and by staying overnight it allowed us to both have champagne and wine with our meal without worrying about driving home, some 40 miles away. We arrived at 6.30 in the evening, were shown to a very tatty reception area with empty coke cans and food wrappers strewn over the reception top. We signed in and were shown our room, as soon as we went up the stairs alarm bells started to ring, the carpets on the stairs are very dirty, we were given the key to our room, on entering we were met by a fabulous view of the water, however, the disappointment on our faces was evident, cracked basin in bathroom, 2 tatty looking towels, sticky floor, the room was cold, no heating turned on prior to arrival, only turned on after we checked in, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no pictures on the walls, rotten wood broken off the doors to the patio, plaster falling off the wall behind the curtains, the bed cover had stains on it, the one easy chair had stains on the arms, the tv control wasnt working, when we got the tv on there was no ariel, a large portion of the ceiling had been replastered and was unpainted, leaving a large pink patch, luckily for me my wife found the whole thing hilarious, she was adamant that we would not do the typical english thing and put up with it, so we promptly checked straight out again , having our gladrags in the car for the evening, we then drove back home and went to our local favourite place, the pheasant at keyston, where we had a superb evening. This experience has completely put me off returning even for a meal, I cant believe they would charge people for staying in such tatty rooms. We were offered another room but the carpet was wet as it had been cleaned that day, we declined the offer. I do think that if they intend to capture the overnight market, they have got to get their act together, a view is not enough for them to get away with the tatty surroundings. Almost ruined our anniversary.

Date visited: 23.9.08

Review by Bethany Audley on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
My partner and i decided to vist the restaurant for a valentines day meal. I was disgusted by the food served to us. Firstly my partner ordered the rack of lamb, which they had ran out of at 1.00pm!he then ordered the rump, which they had ran out of, he then ordered the sirlion, which they had ran out of. He had to order the only meat option remaining being the partridge. I was going to order the sea bass but after smelling the next tables sea bass i decided not to. It smelt very old and possibly even off! Our starters arrived eventually and were very poor and unimaginative. The partidge was served with the birds crop (pocket in the throat where the birds store wastage and food)still attached!it is basic practice to remove this and it caused a terrible stinking mess on my partners plate. As my partner is a chef he knew what the birds crop was, quite worryingly any normal person would have ate it and more that likely recieved food posioning!After trying to complain to three different people, with one waiter taking our food and responding, 'the chef is cutting off the nasty bit now', we eventually spoke to the manager. He was very flippant and all he did was take the partidge off the bill!absolutley horrible poorley ran establishment.do not go there unless you want food poisioning!

Date visited: 14/02/08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I wonder what fool it was that first invented kissing. - Jonathan Swift
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages