It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2018: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bird in Hand, Wreningham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by CET on 19th December, 2012

Add your review
I was looking forward to my lunch yesterday but found the meal very poor quality. Style over substance!! The tartlet starter was cold, the pasry hard and the whole thing was covered up with cold sweetcorn and rocket. The veggie goats cheese parcel was just ok but the veg were overcooked and the sauce thick and cool. The chocolate brownie dessert was dry, just a smear of sauce on the plate and very small helping of ice cream. Its a while since I have been to the bird in hand and I am not thinking of returning. On a positive note the service was prompt and the staff pleasant.

Date visited: 18/12/12

Review by ECHETT on 26th February, 2012

Add your review
Service so slow had to wait half an hour just to order nearly ended up walking out then half of the dishes where unavalible dont know if would return shame as have been before and it was very good

Date visited: 24.2.12

Review by Snelling on 26th March, 2011

Add your review
I have been a frequent customer of this pub since 1989, when it reopened, as I have never lived more that 5 miles from it during this time. When Carol Turner ran it, the food was exceptional. The following owners destroyed its good reputation and to begin with, the current owners did many things right to help restore it. However, the latest meal we had there was a huge disappointment. What made things worse was the reluctance to put things right. Two of the four meals were sent back and when they were re-presented, there was only a marginal improvement. We were advised quite curtly that "no-one else had complained". The steak was underdone and luke warm, the scampi and hand-cut chips had been fried in oil that was too hot and for too long and the presentation was mediocre. Not a good experience with significant room for improvement and very customer unfriendly.

Date visited: 5th March 2011

Review by Diane Blackwell on 16th December, 2010

Add your review
Whenever I'm up from London visiting my parents', I try to visit this pub for a meal. The food is lovely, the bar staff are always pleasant, friendly and helpful, and there is a good selection of drinks. And it has a lovely ambience too - it definitely ticks all the right boxes for me.

Date visited: Regularly

Review by Eve Delahey on 21st July, 2010

Add your review
My family and I are frequent visitors to The Bird in Hand, it is run by a family who are totally committed to their business, and when I read the negative comments made by Ms Brighton, I felt I had to speak in their defence! There are no 'thin' tables at the Bird (or at least I have never seen any!) The atmosphere is great, just as an old country pub should be, the staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble. As for the food...wow..absolutely gorgeous . In my opinion, you would have to travel a long way to find better, we love it there, and I know many others who would agree. Don't be put off by Ms Brighton's rather bizarre comments, its a great place...go and see for yourself!

Date visited: 20.7.2010

Review by richard banks on 10th July, 2010

Add your review
Hey; have you seen the new Menu - Mmmmmmmmm Get stuck in there - well worth a visit! New Guest Beer ADNAMS Lighthouse scrumptions!

Date visited: 10th July 2010

Review by sarah brighton on 15th June, 2010

Add your review
i was highly recommended to visit this pub / restaurant by a friend and unfortunately i write this with sheer DISAPPOINTMENT! i found the service RUDE, bordering on non exsistant, the food mediocre slightly COLD and the place on the stale side with a very strange atmosphere! to sit in the bar where my husband and i was fighting over who was going to have our plate fully on the thin table so we could eat was UNACCEPTABLE!how they can call themselves a restaurant i will never know! VERY DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE!

Date visited: early june 2010

Review by Jean & Alan Martin on 18th May, 2009

Add your review
Thank you Lizzie for arranging such a super 65th Birthday celebration for my husband Alan. The food for all 16 of us came quickly, was excellently presented and nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. All of our guests have said how super the food was, the atmosphere of the restaurant excellent, and a couple of smokers even commented on the very pretty garden. Value for money, all round good service, and our thanks and compliments to the hard working chef and his staff. Anyone who has a similar function in mind we would'nt hesitate to recommend your restaurant. Many many thanks Jean & Alan

Date visited: 16th May 2009

Review by Richard Banks on 7th March, 2009

Add your review
Good sustained food is hard to find but that is what you get if you dine at this establishment. Since this date we have been regular visitors and will continue to be so. A well stocked bar of fine wine and a wide selection of beers, good ambience and extremely friendly staff, this the place to be. Prices are moderate, but more importantly an extensive menu from Fish to Steaks,freshly cooked and good quality in fact everything one could wish for in a good night out!

Date visited: 20th February 2009

Review by Paul Baily on 17th December, 2008

Add your review
Thank goodness the pub is back in 'local' hands, run by a family who care. Once again there is a professional chef offering excelent value for money food, not cheap, but worth it. There is a good range of beers and wines, served by attentive staff, well worth a visit.

Date visited: 25th October 2008

Review by Lizzie on 20th October, 2008

Add your review
My family and I took over the Bird in Hand at the end of September and I am disappointed to hear of Faye's experience when she visited the pub under previous ownership. Our kitchen staff are fully committed to making every effort to accommodate dietary requirements. In fact we recently catered for three coeliac ladies - our chef asked them to pre-order whatever they liked from the menu and it was then specially prepared to include no gluten whatsoever. All our food is cooked from scratch and freshly prepared and I would love to welcome Faye back to see if we can rectify her previous experience.

Date visited: 18/10/08

Review by beatrice on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
i loved the food the best ive ever tasted, but very exspensive but well worth it.

Date visited: 2008

Review by faye on 1st June, 2008

Add your review
My husband and I had been before on numerous occasions and had lovely meals, however this last time I was disappointed. Unfortunately I have to follow a gluten free diet for coeliac disease and in the past the chef had always understood this and made a delicious safe meal for me. This time the waiter was reluctant to accommodate me and I had a rather dry meal. When I tried to express this to the manageress who happened to bring over our food the response wasn't particularly polite. It is not a diet of choice that I follow and SO many restaurants do not understand this. Once again I have to go on a hunt for somewhere with a chef who cooks from fresh and knows their business.

Date visited: 31/05/2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There's no use doing a kindness if you do it a day too late. - Charles Kingsley
More Quotes

On this day:
Drake Starts round the world voyage - 1577, Battle of Alton - 1643, Battle of the River Plate - 1939, Jackanory First Broadcast - 1965
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages