Top Picks:

Hotel Kings Arms Kings Arms
B and B Chiltern Ridge B&B Chiltern Ridge B&B
Self-Catering Wychert Cottage Wychert Cottage
Inn Kings Arms Kings Arms

Bucks
Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Yew Tree, Frieth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by geoffrey betts on 10th November, 2011

Add your review
This is a great pub. Good beer and excellent food. We just love the Burgers, the whole family goes and we all have the bacon cheeseburger! The rest of the food always looks great as well but we dont live close by so it becomes our burger night! It appears to be very children friendly which can be a good thing or bad thing depending on your view but there are always young children there when we go. Definitely a must try.

Date visited: 29/10/2011

Review by Reed on 7th May, 2011

Add your review
We love this pub, the staff are lovely, very friendly and want to please. The food is absolutly amazing, it is freshly cooked, extremely tasty, very good value. Cannot wait to try their Pie and Pint (or glass of wine) night on Thursdays, love the Friday curry night. It also great to take the kids, half the price of adult meals, but just the same care and quality of the food for the children.

Date visited: 01/05/11

Review by ian rand on 11th November, 2008

Add your review
very disappointing.

Date visited: Nov 2008

Review by Sarah on 15th May, 2008

Add your review
Unfortunately, after improving a couple of years ago, the Yew Tree seems to have gone downhill again. The service was incredibly slow, bearing in mind that the pub was virtually empty. Many of the items on the menu were not available. Worst of all, though that what should have been a pleasant lunch in the garden at the front was ruined by the constant barking of a dog in the garden to the side - non stop for over an hour! The food itself was not bad, but overall not somewhere I'd recommend at the moment.

Date visited: May 2008

Review by Mr and Mrs Hewitt on 2nd March, 2008

Add your review
We took our stepmother (and our 10 year old) out for a late lunch at the Yew Tree on Mother's Day, having discovered it the week before while on a walk. On our first visit we had an excellent meal in the bar with friendly service. On our second visit we booked a table in the restaurant. We enjoyed an excellent meal (roast pork and lamb) of which there was large helpings (a change from nouvelle cuisine hunger rations), all presented well by courteous staff. The afters were also excellent. And by the way, the village setting is lovely. We had such a hearty meal, supper was completely unnecessary. Great value. We like the Yew Tree and heartily recommend it.

Date visited: 2 March 2008

Review by Anon on 23rd June, 2007

Add your review
A thoroughly disappointing evening. I have lived in the area all my life I had not previously visited the Yew Tree but have visited all of the good local pubs (Five Horseshoes at Maidensgrove, Old Bull and Butcher at Turville, Frog at Skimett, Cherry Tree at Stoke Row and The Goose at Britwell, to name but a few). So many Chilterns pubs have closed down/are closing down and its always so easy to see why when you visit some of them. The decor of the Yew Tree is a little OTT with the beautiful old beams somewhat ruined by a naff white staining job, the furniture in the bar area is cheap IKEA stuff and the crockery and glassware ordinary and/or unmatching. Service at the bar on arrival was welcoming and OK and outwardly the menu was good and varied. We found that the table service was poor (at best); the starters looked like they had been cooked in the afternoon and just warmed up under a grill or in the oven; the mains were ordinary. Two of us were drinking and my wife was driving and she was not asked whether she wanted a drink for over 30 mins. It then took us over 15 mins to attract someone's attention to order her something - this despite there only being 5-6 tables there. Two people stood and talked to some people on another table while we waited. To add insult to injury, having ordered a Cappucino the Yew Tree was unable to provide it. Give The Yew Tree a miss.

Date visited: 22nd June 2007

Review by aaron on 18th March, 2007

Add your review
A very contrasting image since our last visit exactly a year ago. Quite a bit on the downside with fused lightbulbs in the restaurant to tatooed staff members and a very average food. This small country pub was a jewel in the hambledan valley till last summer and was highly recommended and very well run. From the looks there has been a change of ownership and the new landlord needs to clean up his act. No value for money and a very disappointing evening. i guess it does explain the empty restaurant on a weekend. Barman seemed more distracted by his group of friends acroos the bar rather than to concentrate on customers. On the postive note still have a good selection of beers from the marlow brewery. From the looks of it it isnt a food empasised gastropub anymore. it has been reclassified as an average pub.

Date visited: Feb 2007

Review by brian thompson on 17th February, 2006

Add your review
We would like to recommend the yew tree. We have come here two years in a row for valentines day celebration and on other several occasions. And would like to tell you that we have throughly enjoyed our evening. The menu was very well balanced and well priced. Good Value for Money as you would say in rip off britain. The service is always courteous and friendly. Even though they didnt have live entertainment this year but definitely the hospitality made up fo it. Never liked the framed pictures of celebrities and to my surprised this time they had some more in the dinning room. Doesnt really do justice to the place if you over do it and ends up over shadowing the actual decor of the restaurant which has been done up very well. A very well run establishment. Definitely stands out from the rest of the few scores of pubs that do exist in this area. By the way dont miss out on the much talked about Curry Nights at the Yew Tree. Definitely worth a mention.

Date visited: valentines day, 2006

Review by Mr & Mrs Clarkson on 10th January, 2006

Add your review
We visited the restaurant on the recommendation of our neighbours after moving in to Marlow. The approach was through narrow winding country roads and on a dark cold foggy night hated every bit of it. Finally we arrived at the Yew Tree just when we thought we had lost our way. Very classy decor, clean and well kept complimented by quality cuisine. A very comfortable and relaxed lounge and never felt rushed. Perfect haven for an old couple like us. The rebellion beer was crisp and refreshing. (You hardly get a decent pint now a days.) Friendly service. Looking forward to be back in summer. Keep up the good work landlord and we will be back.

Date visited: 7-01-2006

Review by richard curtis on 31st December, 2005

Add your review
wanted to take my family out for christmas lunch away from the hustle bustle of the city and then came across the yew tree. first impression as i walked in - a warm hearty welcome from the staff and landlord as if i was a regular. felt as if i was at someones home. the mulled wine was a bonus especially on a cold winters day like that with warm open fireplace. the food was fantastic and the service very personalised and at the price it was well beyond value for money. i can clearly see the efforts put in and its a shame that a small incident like above ends up tarring the image portrayed. it is unfortunate and i had to give my feedback about an experience that i will and most of all my family will cherish. My first visit but definitely not my last.

Date visited: 25/12/2005

Review by Mrs East on 8th November, 2005

Add your review
A friend & myself visited on Friday and it was curry night. The curry was home made and very nice. We declined desserts after the meal and ordered coffee and a liqeur. The coffee was served luke warm and we had to send it back. We finished the drinks and the waitress did not take away the empty dishes. Instead she sat at the bar with a group of people smoking. This showed absolutely no hygeine discipline or customer care. We had to get up and go to the bar for the bill. We then automatically had a 10% service charge added. .

Date visited: 4/11/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If we open a quarrel between past and present, we shall find that we have lost the future - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Six Month Frost Begins - 1076, First Known Performance of Othello - 1604, The Tempest First Performed - 1611, Premium Bonds go on Sale - 1956, Channel 4 transmits for 1st time - 1982, BSE identified in UK - 1986
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages