It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Boot Inn,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by lee on 28th March, 2011

Add your review
We were very disappointed during our visit this month, we had the risotto, oh my god! terrible..the food is way inferior now they should put back a chef in the kitchen not a cook, we've been told by one of the staff that the new chef is cooking his risotto with a microwave!!!!... i must say it was much better by far when the French chef was there we won't go back! Lee

Date visited: March

Review by richard on 31st October, 2010

Add your review
we loved the rib of beef on this sunday lunch, it was really tasty and unusual. the place was absolutely packed! i must say, the food is the reason why we went there, Chef Rody is really starting to make a name for himself, i think he should open his own restaurant in a bigger town richard

Date visited: 31 october 2010

Review by edward on 29th May, 2010

Add your review
well i coudn't more agreed with the others reviews the owner john has a great personality from what we heard while dining with his drinking crew but the restaurant side of it was none exsitent until he get a real chef behind the wheel!,the new french chef rody has really provided the place with some fantastic and simple dishes full of flavours! it is also 10 times busier! well done to chef rody edward

Date visited: 12/05/2010

Review by Magnus on 3rd January, 2008

Add your review
We have been going to the Boot for umpteen years, back to the time it was run as a "hobby" by the original owner. Excellent food, friendly efficient staff and a landlord who seems to have a photographic memory for faces, with a warm welcome to all who cross the threshold. A huge garden to enjoy in the summer months. Food from the excellent fish and chips all the way up to gourmet servings. Enjoy. p.s. Beer too !!

Date visited: 18/12/07

Review by Brian A on 14th December, 2007

Add your review
A rare gem of a country pub - what a trditional English pub is all about, in my humble opinion. Excellent real ale, good wine and superb food. Very friendly and polite staff who knew about an old Aston Martin when they heard and saw one - very impressive. I would highly recommend this pub, it is very special in a non-pretentious way.

Date visited: 20th October 2007

Review by Garth Priestley on 24th June, 2007

Add your review
As always the food was excellent, the service may not be ‘silver service’ but is top quality, friendly ‘table service’. Possibly the highest recommendation is that the manager puts the comfort of the majority clientele before birthday celebrations that would be better held in a crèche and served with a preponderance of sour grapes.

Date visited: 23rd June 07

Review by Kevin Carver on 17th June, 2007

Add your review
As a grandfather out for a birthday treat very early to be asked to quieten a baby down that was not verly noisey. We decided to leave and will never go back the approach of the management of the restaurant that claims to be children friendly is not and for some reason was just too keen to get us out.The children in question were not running round and the baby was not crying she was just doing what 9 month old babies do. This place is not friendly and I would never recommend it to any one. The manger is surley and rude service was poor food average. But after spending in excess of £100.00 I expected better from a children friendly restaurant.

Date visited: 16 June 2007

Review by Ed on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
When is a Pub not a Pub? When it's a 'Gastro Pub' But NOT in this case. How DOES he do it?

Date visited: Feb 07

Review by Cameron on 8th December, 2006

Add your review
I belive that this Public House was built by God himself. A country pub attended by the country sort. The staff are of a kind nature not found in other pubs, john the owner is somewhat of a genius. The food is tremendous and well prepared. Real ales are on tap from the exquisite West Berkshire Brewery. Recommended is the fine tasting Good Old Boy, delectable guest ales are also avaliable. A wide selection of fine wines are also on the menu. A wonderful pub in a wonderful village.

Date visited: 27th

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
My opinion is that a poet should express the emotion of all the ages and the thought of his own. - Thomas Hardy
More Quotes

On this day:
First Non-Stop Transatlantic Jet Flight - 1950, Launch of ITV - 1955, 10 Soldiers killed by IRA bomb attack in Deal - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles