It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Blackbird Inn, Newbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Karen on 25th July, 2009

Add your review
Best country pub in berkshire area. Really good reasonably priced food, great service and all the facilities needed for a young family (play area, Baby change)

Date visited: 25/07/2009

Review by James on 18th April, 2009

Add your review
The drinks were good but the food was over priced for what you get. We had a fish pie and a mushroom stroganoff. The mushroom stroganoff was almost pure water and even more apparent when you push down on the mushrooms with the water oozing out. The fish pie was lumpy mash and just fish - no sauce, no cheese on top and no flavour. Disappointing for a nice pub in a great location. Total meal price for lime & soda, pint of ale and the food above - £20.

Date visited: 18/04/09

Review by Brian on 21st September, 2007

Add your review
the pub has had some wonderful changes over the past few years with the standard and variety of everything constantly improving.the couple thast own it ahve put some real effort into the business and it shows.I have just booked my christmas work party here and we will all be looking forward to it. check out the website www.theblackbird.co.uk

Date visited: 20/09/2007

Review by Kathy on 4th July, 2007

Add your review
My family and I have just sat in abeautiful garden in the brief sunshine this summer. We have all had a lovely lunch served by very friendly and welcoming staff. This pub has all the facilities for my family baby changing and good warming and a lovely play set for my boys. I will be back time and time again

Date visited: 01/07/2007

Review by ellen on 24th November, 2006

Add your review
I have just had a wonderful dinner here in a beautiful pub sitting by a lovely open log fire. Atmosphere was great full of people going to the theatre. I will definately be back , my husband a real ale drinker, said it was some of the best beer he has ever had. The place was spotless and non smoking which to me is always a blessing!

Date visited: 20/11/2006

Review by Jane on 23rd November, 2006

Add your review
I have just visited the blackbird and I have shown Howard and Liz a print out of all reviews. they were mortified they had no record of Simon and Robs complaints and they do seem to keep a book for complaints (albeit it was empty but a few, you can't please everyone all of the time!!!!) They have been there under a year and have changed the pub from what was discribed by simon and rob to a fantastic pub to eat and drink in. I was offered a guided tour of their kitchen and truely believe that the pipes would be kept in the same condition as the kitchen immaculate!!! 1 freezer but only a small one and one small microwave plenty of grills , ovens and gas rings!!I will go back again. I read all the reviews before I went and decided to make my own mind up about this pub. I am glad I did the danger about these web sites is that you have no idea if people have a hidden agenda for good or for bad and the only way to find out if somewhere is to your taste is to taste it yourself.

Date visited: 23/11/2006

Review by Simon Wallace on 3rd November, 2006

Add your review
I can sympathise an appreciate where Rob (the first posting on here) is coming from. We stopped by for what we hoped would be a pleasant meal. Very poor quality of food and beer (anyone there heard of cleaning pipes or ever been taught how beer SHOULD taste??) I imagine the kitchen consists of one large freezer and a dozen microwave ovens. Wish we had read the firdt review before visiting and saved our money!

Date visited: 19th September 2006

Review by Carol on 22nd October, 2006

Add your review
On saturday evening I visited the Blackbird with a group of friends and I must admit using this web site frequently I was a bit worried after Robs review but my friend persuaded me to have a go. If i was the owners I would contemplate reporting Rob for slander.The food was excellent everything I ordered was home made and the service was second to none. The atmosphere was welcoming and what a delight to eat in a non smoking enviroment. They have a large selection of autumn offers and my friends are already talking of going back and with the log fires looking ready to go i cant think of anywhere else to spend an enjoyable evening

Date visited: 21/10/2006

Review by Emma on 18th September, 2006

Add your review
I recently went to the Blackbird Inn with 7 friends for a meal before seeing a play at the Watermill Theatre,so that we did not miss the start of the show we had to eat by 7.15pm. We were greeted with a warm welcome and served delicious food (I had lasagne) which none of us could fault (and it was most certainly home cooked),and there was plenty of it and there sweet menu was great. we ate three courses and were out the door in time for the show. It was a perfect start to a great evening and we shall certainly be going back again for the sunday roast.

Date visited: 16/9/06

Review by Dave on 17th September, 2006

Add your review
Don't know what Rob is taking about. We have been using The Blackbird Inn regularly over the last five years and since the new owners took over last December it has improved 100%. The food is loverly, the beer is the best kept in Newbury and you always get a warm welcome. Thats why we use the pub for all our family functions. We think it's the best Country Pub around.

Date visited: 1/9/06

Review by Rob on 27th August, 2006

Add your review
I have visited this pub more than a dozen times over the past 5 years but I am sad to say that my last 2 visits have been spaced out over 18 months as the food and service has deteriorated to a dreadfully poor state. The Pub promotes "Home Cooked Food" and not "Home Made Food", this is because it's not of this time or earth. I highly doubt a skilled chef has made this from scratch, more like reheated a thrid party product - But at least it's "Home Cooked!!!". My Wife chose to have a traditional Sunday beef lunch - what appeared was tougher than my leather shoes, she was offered a replacement but I'm not sure she could of taken anymore punishment. The location is superb but that's about it, there are much better pubs in Newbury - Don't be put off by this one.

Date visited: 27/08/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I never had lunch in Brighton without wanting to take a woman to bed in the afternoon - John Osborne
More Quotes

On this day:

More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages