It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Its illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Falcon, Bletsoe

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by helen constant on 20th January, 2013

Add your review
Since our local pub changed hands and was rather unsettled, we decided to try the Falcon. It was under new management and I cannot say how pleased we are with everything. We are made welcome by all the staff, lovely new decor and excellent food. Have taken friends there and all agree. Had a lovely lunch for over 20 of us last summer, under a tree in the garden. Can't find anything to complain about, good service.

Date visited: several

Review by Vic&Sue on 15th April, 2012

Add your review
Our third visit this year,re-decoration of dining room so much lighter--great!Excellent service.Excellent meal,my lamb was delicious.Do give your support to The Falcon!The patio/decking area looks super with stylish furniture,perfect for the summer.

Date visited: 15April 2012

Review by DENNIS on 14th February, 2011

Add your review
What an insult - all food of very small portions & virtually cold and of the cheapest cuts. No veg even after asking 3 times. Lobster Thermidor was more like a portion of king prawn - only three small lumps of tail meat, made up using two halves of mushroom. Turkey was not a prime cut - only rolled leg meat & no breast. Staff were surly & slow - we had to wait more than 25 mins for each course. We had paid a deposit - big mistake as the quantity of food far less than commensurate with fair exchange. We left without being served sweet or coffee so did not pay balance. Hurried home to fill up on salad & mince pies that were intended for the evening. That was our Xmas ruined - will never go there again & would definitely not recommend it even to my enemies!!!! Was supposed to be 65 / head - grossly overpriced.

Date visited: XMAS 2010

Review by Simon bonanno on 8th August, 2010

Add your review
What a wonderful meal... Due to the late booking we could only get an 2045 booking for the for of us, we were greeted in a timely fashion at the table was ready for our arrival we were recommended some wines to complement our meal , we starting with shrimp with garlic sauce chicken liver pate mushroom soup .. Arrived Timely and hot, the starters were so tastey we all sampled each other a thumbs up from all of us. The mains had alot to stand up to following our starter 40 mins later arrived our mains 2 surf and tuft ( steak and lobster) a sirloin and lamb Henry apparently his favorite cut? Again it arrived well presented hot and tasted fantasic, being a fan of steak I enjoy it rare and often is over cooked this was "perfectly" cooked hot throughout and a soft succulent cut . The lobster was equally tasty. If I am to bit really picky the only negative was we had to poor our own wine whereby most restaurants will notice empty glasses and refill however as said was the only down. However by pudding him creme bur and homemade apple pie and custard was yummy well done to the south African owner who we found out is also the chef, a good sign in my books. A very good valued meal exceed our expectations dispute some less than glowing reports on here I felt I needed to out things right. From my view anyway. Simon

Date visited: 07/08/2010

Review by Aileen on 6th July, 2010

Add your review
Loved it! I stayed for almost 2 weeks at the Falcons B&B. So, I was able to check out the restaurant over many meals. I never came away disappointed. The food was always delicious lovely big portions of mains, veg, desserts, all nicely presented. My favourites became the creamy pasta, duck (with some sort of dark red fruit glaze) and their chunky hamburgers. Can't wait to go back and eat in the garden by the river - a slice of heaven.

Date visited: June 7-10

Review by Aileen on 5th July, 2010

Add your review
Loved it! I stayed for almost 2 weeks at the Falcons B&B. So, I was able to check out the restaurant over many meals. I never came away disappointed. The food was always delicious lovely big portions of mains, veg, desserts, all nicely presented. My favourites became the creamy pasta, duck (with some sort of dark red fruit glaze) and their chunky hamburgers. Can't wait to go back and eat in the garden by the river - a slice of heaven.

Date visited: June 7-10

Review by Mary on 13th May, 2010

Add your review
We arrived with great expectations. We sat at a table on the patio that had not been properly cleaned, we waited for ages before our order was taken. The table was half heartedly wiped, still leaving bits of old food on the table. Eventually our starters arrived, and I had to ask for cutlery. The waitress had trouble understanding the difference between red and white wine, and brought the wrong colour. When the main course finally arrived, our faces were grim. Even grimmer when I realised that my salmon was lukewarm, and the beef my husband had was so thin you could see through it. I sent my meal back and we made a swift exit, paying at the bar rather than waiting any longer. Never again.

Date visited: May 2010

Review by P and C O on 14th April, 2010

Add your review
Table booked but no welcome when we arrived. Ages to get service at the table. Told at the last minute that an item was unavaialble so had to start the order again and when an enquiry was made as to what exactly a cannon of lamb was another long wait to find out. Ages for drink to appear then two instead of one. Food took ages to arrive (an hour between entry and main course) and the chicken was stuffed with sausage meat not pate and the "fine green beans" were frozen peas - no apology - appalling since the restaurant prides itself on locally sourced food! We went to the till to pay after this to get out as soon as possible as waitng for the bill would take another half hour and others did the same. No one thanked us and did not seem surprised that we left no tip. Never again.

Date visited: 10th April 2010

Review by Kate on 31st May, 2009

Add your review
Nice pub, but food was luke warm although tasted and presentation ok. No baby changing facitities. Service was terrible, drinks took 15 minutes and we had to keep asking for more rounds. Nobody checked if the food was ok, we had to find our own condiments from another table. Young staff seemed disinterested in us as customers. Table wasn't cleared before we payed the bill. Very disapointing.

Date visited: may 2009

Review by Tony Layzell on 14th April, 2009

Add your review
The Falcon Inn My first visit to the Falcon yesterday (Easter Bank holiday Monday) Location.... On the A6 between Bedford and Rushdon, lots of free parking and very well presented. Inside..... Very nice indeed, olde wordly beams and fire places, very clean and tidy the toilets were immaculate... The Food...... well presented, very well cooked, service was excellent....portion size was very bad The Downside...... 4 of us attended, all had a starter a main course and a sweet, with one round of drinks it came to 85.00 Not too bad you may think and If I hadn't had to go home and rustle us all up a few rounds of cheese on toast as all four of us left still hungry then this review would be 100% posative instead of only 90% Shame really as everything else was great but we'll not be bothering to go back...

Date visited: 13th April 2009

Review by Mrs Pauline Dynes on 18th September, 2006

Add your review
We wanted to surprise my in-laws (both aged 88!) with a 65th Wedding Anninversary party. The management were extremely helpful, accommodating 16 guests with a varied menu. The 'snug' was tastefully decorated and we found ALL the staff to be really friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend the Falcon to anyone who is looking for a super venue for that 'special occasion'. THANK YOU for giving us such a lovely evening.

Date visited: 19th August 2006

Review by Mrs Sargent on 5th September, 2005

Add your review
We went to the Falcon for our Wedding Aniversary on Saturday night. We had a fabulous meal, we found the staff very polite and helpful. We will definately go there again.

Date visited: Saturday 03.09.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Great is the hand that holds dominion over man by a scribbled name. - Dylan Thomas
More Quotes

On this day:
French Surrender Quebec to the British - 1759, Theatre Royal Covent Garden Re-Opens - 1809, Darwin Sets Foot on Galapagos Islands - 1835, Jimi Hendrix dies in London - 1970, Scotland Says NO - 2014
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages