George

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George Hotel, Amesbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 18th April, 2010

Add your review
Bad Points: Evening meal -a miss / match of items and a long wait. General review: Good location and value.

Date visited: 2010-04-18

Review by John White on 25th October, 2009

Add your review
On the 24th October Angela and David Kearn had there Wedding Reception here, and I would like to point out that I have never been to such a wonderful place than the George Hotel in Amesbury, the staff was always at hand to help, and the stay over at night was great, I and everyone else really had fun, and I will totally be recommending this Hotel. Thank you very much to everyone who works there......John

Date visited: 24th October 2009

Review by andy on 7th July, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: nice clean quaint hotel Bad Points: could the soap and shower jel be put in the bathroom General review: very enjoyable expierence

Date visited: 2009-07-07

Review by Anonymous on 6th May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: a pleasant stay in a superb room Bad Points: expensive General review: I will certainly repeat the experience, when I can afford it!!!!!!!

Date visited: 2009-05-06

Review by Anonymous on 14th April, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: We had a pleasant chat with local people in the bar and moved next door to a little entertainment untill early hours, we enjoyed it very much Bad Points: i found that the room was not dust free, for eg tops of curtains and inside the wardrobe, we could not tune into the tv and digital box, General review: the hotel management and staff were very friendly,

Date visited: 2009-04-14

Review by Paul Weeden on 16th February, 2009

Add your review
We had a very pleasant stay, it's a beautiful old building retaining many of the original features. The room over looked the car park and was very large with a lovely old bathroom. We were not disturbed by the noise from the street or the function room on this side of the building at all. They kindly made us breakfast even though we were 15 minutes later than the time stated to be in the dinning room for. Thanks for a great weekend.

Date visited: 13/02/2009-15/02/2009

Review by Anonymous on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: hotel conveniently located. Check in and out very quick service. Breakfast good. Excellent price. Bad Points: Bathroom required more thorough cleaning.

Date visited: 2008-08-26

Review by Anonymous on 8th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Breakfast Bad Points: Hotel only did bar meals. Several areas were dirty and badly maintained. Some staff were abrupt although a couple were quite pleasant. A large wedding party dominated the attention of staff to the neglect of others. Not the standard we are used to. General review: It kept us out of the rain

Date visited: 2008-07-08

Review by K Fisher on 25th May, 2008

Add your review
Area: opposite the main night spot, dont expect any sleep if you stay Friday - Sunday. The windows are basic, affording you zero level of sound protection. To put my review into perspective Ive stayed in many hotels 3* - 5* across the UK, America, and India!! If I had slept amongst the large unruly crowd in the streets Id have stood as much a chance of sleeping. Would strongly suggest you avoid this hotel! I realise you cant expect to sleep as well as you do at home, but this was awful! From food, to area to service, you dont normally expect to find teenagers running about behind the scenes in and out of the kitchen etc!

Date visited: 23/05/08

Review by ELISA on 2nd October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: The room was comfortable Bad Points: Drinks facilities limited General review: In general I feel that the hotel offers pleasant clean accomodation with friendly staff. The breakfast was good and served promptly.

Date visited: 2007-10-02

Review by Kevin Ball on 17th June, 2006

Add your review
On arrival, I found the reception disorganised and the staff generally not very helpful.It was then pointed out to me that there was a karioke night twice weekly which went on till 2 AM.The room was to my mind substandard with the bath severly chipped,the carpet frayed and generally not very clean.The website suggests that the hotel was refurbished recently,I would think that this was done some years ago.I did not have an evening meal in the hotel but did attend the restaurant area for breakfast,again this was not clean with cobwebs hanging around and personally I found the meal meagre.Although staying in the area for a further 6 days, I moved hotels after one night. I would not recommend this hotel

Date visited: 4th June 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The nation that secures control of the air will ultimately control the world. - Alexander Graham Bell
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages